St Petersburg, Mariinsky Theatre

Carmen Suite. Symphony in C

one act ballets



Music by Georges Bizet – Rodion Shchedrin, Georges Bizet
Choreography by Alberto Alonso, George Balanchine

one act ballet

Music by Georges Bizet – Rodion Shchedrin
Choreography by Alberto Alonso
Production Choreographer: Viktor Barykin
Production Designer: Boris Messerer
Lighting Designer: Vladimir Lukasevich

World premiere: 20 April 1967, Bolshoi Theatre, Moscow
Premiere at the Mariinsky Theatre: 19 April 2010

Running time: 45 minutes


ballet in four movements

Music by Georges Bizet (Symphony No. 1 in C)
Choreography by George Balanchine (1947)
Staging by Colleen Neary
Costume design by Irina Press

World premiere: 1947, Théâtre de l´Opéra, Paris
Premiere at the Mariinsky Theatre: 9 February 1996, St Petersburg

Running time: 40 minutes

The Ballets of George Balanchine Symphony in C is presented by arrangement with The George Balanchine Trust and has been produced in accordance with the Balanchine Style® and Balanchine Technique® service standards established and provided by the Trust

The Mariinsky Theatre would like to express its gratitude to Mrs Bettina von Siemens for her support in bringing the “Ballets of George Balanchine” project to life

Age category 12+

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.

The highlighting of performances by age represents recommendations.

This highlighting is being used in accordance with Federal Law N436-FZ dated 29 December 2010 (edition dated 1 May 2019) "On the protection of children from information that may be harmful to their health"