St Petersburg, Concert Hall

Sofia Kiprskaya (harp) and the ensemble Renaissance Percussion

Sofia Kiprskaya (harp)

The Renaissance Percussion ensemble comprising:
Mikhail Vedunkin
Dmitry Gabbasov
Yevgeny Zhikalov
Grigory Zhuravlev
Vladislav Ivanov
Gleb Logvinov
Vladimir Maslov
Dmitry Fyodorov
Fyodor Khandrikov
Tatiana Cheryomukhina
Arseny Shuplyakov

Dinara Muratova (viola)
Ilya Ilyin (english horn)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Overture to Le nozze di Figaro

Jean-Michel Damase
Harp Concertino

Mikhail Vedunkin
Echoes of Africa

Manuel de Falla
Spanish Dance

Johann Sebastian Bach
Prelude in C minor from the Das wohltemperierte Klavier, Book I

Johann Strauss II
Auf der Jagd

Vyacheslav Kruglik
Fantasia on popular film themes by John Williams

Joaquín Rodrigo
Adagio from Concierto de Aranjuez

Renaissance Percussion
The Path of the Samurai

Edvard Grieg
Anitra’s Dance and In the Hall of the Mountain King from Peer Gynt

Émile Deltour
Concertino in Jazz for harp

Arrangements made by Anatoly Ivanov, Vladislav Ivanov, Vyacheslav Kruglik

Concert Director: Ekaterina Malaya

About the performers

The Renaissance Percussion ensemble was founded in 2005 by Vladislav Ivanov and Arseny Shuplyakov. It comprises percussion musicians of the Mariinsky Orchestra. In 2005 the ensemble gave its first concert performances in Russia and abroad and won 1st prize at the International Rachmaninoff Ensembles’ Competition in St Petersburg. In 2012, the ensemble again took 1st prize at that competition. Today the ensemble’s repertoire includes works from various eras and styles. One of the ensemble’s priorities is performing music by Russian and European classical composers in arrangements for melodic percussion instruments written by members of the ensemble Vladislav Ivanov and Arseny Shuplyakov themselves.

Age category 6+

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.