St Petersburg, Concert Hall

Soviet-era music

The Renaissance Percussion ensemble comprising:
Mikhail Vedunkin
Dmitry Gabbasov
Yevgeny Zhikalov
Grigory Zhuravlev
Vladislav Ivanov
Gleb Logvinov
Vladimir Maslov
Dmitry Fyodorov
Fyodor Khandrikov
Arseny Shuplyakov

Anastasia Kalagina (soprano)
Edem Umerov (baritone)
Yevgeny Akhmedov (tenor)
Dmitry Yefimov (piano)
Aglaya Shuplyakova (flute)
Gennady Nikonov (trumpet)
Alexei Popov (trumpet)
Nikolai Stranatkovsky (trumpet)
Alexander Dzhurri (trombone)
Mikhail Seliviorstov (bass-trombone)
Zakhar Katsman (french horn)

Valery Gavrilin
Second German Notebook
(arrangement for percussion ensemble by Arseny Shuplyakov)

Georgy Sviridov
Time, Forward – March! from the eponymous suite
(arrangement for percussion ensemble by Arseny Shuplyakov)

Eduard Artemyev
Music from films, arrangement for percussion ensemble by Vladislav Ivanov, Arseny Shuplyakov, Darii Maminovoi

About the performers

The Renaissance Percussion ensemble was founded in 2005. It comprises percussion musicians of the Mariinsky Orchestra. In 2005 the ensemble gave its first concert performances in Russia and abroad and won 1st prize at the International Rachmaninoff Ensembles’ Competition in St Petersburg. In 2012, seven years later, it again took 1st prize at the same competition. Today the ensemble’s repertoire includes works from various eras and styles. One of the ensemble’s priorities is performing music by Russian and European classical composers in arrangements for melodic percussion instruments written by members of the ensemble Vladislav Ivanov and Arseny Shuplyakov.

Age category 6+

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.