St Petersburg, Mariinsky Theatre

The Grand Chinese New Year Concert

Marking 70 years since the establishment of diplomatic relations with the People’s Republic of China

Chiao-Hsuan Kang (cello)
Zhu Changyao (erhu)

Suzhou Chinese Orchestra
Conductor: Pang Kapang

Li Huanzhi – Peng Xiuwen
Spring Festival Overture

Liu Wenjin
My Homeland

Zhao Jiping
The Butterfly Dream

Liu Changyuan
Lyric Variations

Hua Yanjun – Zhu Changyao
Moon Reflected in the Second Spring

Wang Danhong
Macau Cappricio

About the performers

The Suzhou Chinese Orchestra is a professional ensemble co-founded by the Suzhou government and Suzhou New District with the aim to promote Chinese culture by integrating traditional music into orchestra performances. The orchestra is composed of 90 musicians, many of whom are graduates of top conservatories in China. The orchestra’s repertoire includes classical compositions, new adaptations of traditional programs, national- and regional-style music as well as modern composer’s works.
The Suzhou Chinese Orchestra has inherited and is constantly carrying forward the Chinese traditional music, actively promoting and spreading it throughout China. It has developed the Suzhou and Jiangnan music, supporting, exploring and reinventing the musical traditions included in the lists of intangible cultural heritage. The orchestra’s engagements for the 2018-2019 season include concerts at the Suzhou Chinese Orchestra Concert Hall as well as ensemble performances, workshops and master-classes in China and abroad.

Age category 6+

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.