St Petersburg, Concert Hall

Daria Burlak, prize-winner Grand Prix de Chartres

VI International Organ Festival

Dietrich Buxtehude
Prelude in F-sharp minor

Domenico Scarlatti
Four sonatas

Johann Sebastian Bach
Prelude and Fugue in G major, BWV 550
Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele, chorale prelude, BWV 654
Toccata in C minor, BWV 911 (arranged by Max Reger)

Charles-Marie Widor
Allegro vivace (1st movement) from the Organ Symphony No. 5 in F minor, Op. 42 No. 1

Maurice Duruflé
Scherzo, Op. 2

Jean-Louis Florentz
Prélude from L’enfant noir after Camara Laye, Op. 17

Patrick Gowers

Marcel Dupré
Deux esquisses, Op. 41 No. 2, No. 3

Performed by Daria Burlak (organ)

About the performers

Daria Burlak is a winner of the Second Prix of the 26th International Organ Competition Grand Prix de Chartres, which concluded in early September of 2018. She became a prize-winner after going through a rigorous knockout stage: out of 30 participants representing 13 countries only three made it to the finals. Quarter-finals and semi-finals were hosted by the Church of St Eustache in Paris, which houses the largest organ in France. The finals took place at the monumental Chartres Cathedral, a wonderful example of Gothic architecture dating back to the 13th century. Austrian organist Johannes Zeinler won the Grand Prix.

The competition in Chartres was founded in 1971 and is reputed to be one of the most prestigious competitions for organists. Although it was initially conceived as an annual event, it has taken place once every two years since 1976. The musicians compete in interpretation and improvisation, their programmes feature music spanning from the Baroque epoch to contemporary works, including those written specifically for the competition. The performances are evaluated by famed organists, composers, and teachers. Such prominent figures as Pierre Cochereau, Gaston Litaize, Marie-Claire Alain, Philippe Lefebvre, André Isoir, Gilbert Amy and other French musicians have presided the jury over the years. Some of the prize-winners of the competition became members of the jury later on. For example, this year’s jury was presided by the competition’s very first winner Daniel Roth. The Mariinsky Theatre has hosted many of the Grand Prix de Chartres competition prize-winners, including Gunnar Idenstam, Benjamin Righetti, David Cassan, Karol Mossakowski, and Thomas Ospital.

Age category 6+

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.

The highlighting of performances by age represents recommendations.

This highlighting is being used in accordance with Federal Law N139-FZ dated 28 July 2012 “On the introduction of changes to the Federal Law ‘On the protection of children from information that may be harmful to their health and development’ and other legislative acts of the Russian Federation.”