St Petersburg, Concert Hall

Prokofiev. Tchaikovsky

Soloist: Vadym Kholodenko (piano)
The Mariinsky Orchestra
Conductor: Valery Gergiev

Sergei Prokofiev
Piano Concerto No. 5 in G major, Op. 55

Pyotr Tchaikovsky
Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64

About the Concert

Prokofiev composed the last of his five piano concerti not long before his return to the USSR from abroad. Like the Fourth Concerto, this work is incredibly laconic in terms of scale; its five movements last some twenty-five minutes altogether. The kaleidoscopic change of moods gives the concerto the features of a suite. In the odd-numbered movements, and in particular in the central brief toccata, the strength and dynamism so typical of Prokofiev’s piano style make themselves known. The second movement is in the composer’s beloved genre of a gavotte. The lyrical core of the work is the fourth movement, the longest part of the cycle, which leads into the virtuoso finale.

Age category 6+

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.

The highlighting of performances by age represents recommendations.

This highlighting is being used in accordance with Federal Law N139-FZ dated 28 July 2012 “On the introduction of changes to the Federal Law ‘On the protection of children from information that may be harmful to their health and development’ and other legislative acts of the Russian Federation.”