Yuri Alexandrov


Stage Director

• People´s Artist of Russia
• Honoured Artist of Russia
• Recipient of the Golden Sophit, St Petersburg´s highest theatre prize
• Recipient of the Golden Mask, Russia´s highest national theatre prize

Trained as a pianist. In 1975, he graduated from the Leningrad State Rimsky-Korsakov Conservatoire faculty of musical theatre directing. Was invited to join the Kirov (Mariinsky) Theatre by Yuri Temirkanov as a stage director. Over the years at the theatre, he has staged the operas Don Pasquale, Don Giovanni, Mavra, Madama Butterfly, Mazepa, The Sorochinsky Market and Aida.

He has staged over eighty productions at theatres throughout Russia, The CIS and abroad, including almost twenty productions for the St Petersburg Chamber Opera Company; he is also Artistic Director of The company, founded on his initiative in 1987. Yuri Alexandrov was awarded the Golden Sophit, St Petersburg´s highest theatre prize, for his staging of Shostakovich´s Gamblers-1942 (best director in musical theatre) and the Golden Mask, Russia´s highest national theatre prize, for his production of Die Weise von Liebe und Tod des Cornets Christoph Rilke by Siegfried Matthus (best opera production in Russia in 1998).
His famous chamber production of Tchaikovsky´s Queen of Spades rounded off a trilogy of operas he staged based on works by Pushkin (the first two being Musorgsky´s Boris Godunov and Tchaikovsky´s Eugene Onegin).

Among recent works staged abroad are The Slippers (Cagliari, Italy), Eugene Onegin, Don Giovanni and Turandot (Verona, Italy).

Recent productions at the Mariinsky Theatre include Le nozze di Figaro, Don Carlos, Semyon Kotko (awarded the Golden Mask for best opera production and best director in 2000), Otello, The Nose and Mazepa (co-production with the Metropolitan Opera, New-York, 2006).

© 1998 – 2017
The Mariinsky Theatre
Information
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Юрий Александров


Режиссер

• Народный артист России
• Заслуженный деятель искусств России
• Лауреат высшей театральной премии Петербурга «Золотой софит»
• Лауреат Российской национальной театральной премии «Золотая маска»

Получил профессиональное образование как пианист. Затем, в 1975 году окончил факультет режиссуры музыкального театра Ленинградской государственной консерватории им. Н.А. Римского-Корсакова. Был приглашен Юрием Темиркановым в Кировский (Мариинский) театр в качестве режиссера-постановщика. За время работы в театре поставил оперы: «Дон Паскуале», «Дон Жуан», «Мавра», «Мадам Баттерфлай», «Мазепа», «Сорочинская ярмарка», «Аида».

Поставил более 80-ти спектаклей в различных оперных театрах России, ближнего и дальнего зарубежья и около 20-ти спектаклей в камерном музыкальном театре «Санктъ-Петербургъ Опера», основанном по его инициативе в 1987 году, художественным руководителем-директором которого он является. За постановку оперы «Игроки-1942» Д. Шостаковича Юрий Александров удостоен высшей театральной премии Петербурга «Золотой софит» (за лучшую режиссерскую работу в музыкальном театре), а спектакль «Песнь о любви и смерти корнета Кристофа Рильке» З. Маттуса удостоен Национальной театральной премии »Золотая маска» как лучший оперный спектакль России 1998 года.
Заметной премьерой камерного музыкального театра стала опера »Пиковая дама» П. Чайковского, завершившая создание Ю. Александровым оперного триптиха на пушкинские сюжеты (две первые части триптиха – «Борис Годунов» М. Мусоргского и «Евгений Онегин» П. Чайковского).

Среди зарубежных постановок – «Черевички» (Кальяри, Италия), «Евгений Онегин», «Дон Жуан», «Турандот» (Верона, Италия).

Среди постановок последних лет в Мариинском театре: «Свадьба Фигаро», «Дон Карлос», «Семен Котко» (Национальная театральная премия «Золотая маска» за лучший оперный спектакль и режиссуру, 2000 год), «Отелло», «Нос», «Мазепа» (совместная постановка с театром Метрополитен-опера, Нью-Йорк, 2006 год).

© 1998 – 2017
Мариинский театр
Справочная служба
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход