Alexander Ramm

Upcoming performances:
28 April 2021

Ramm plays with enormous musical authority. Unlike many young instrumentalists, he is not intimidated by the reflective or the elegiac; nor is he nervous about the length of pauses, or the creation of inter-phrase silence. His is a phenomenal technique and he demonstrated it to full effect in this captivating performance.

Cape Times


Alexander Ramm was born in 1988 in Vladivostok. Graduated from the Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatoire (cello class of Natalia Shakhovskaya and chamber ensemble class of Alexander Bonduyarsky) and completed a postgraduate course at the conservatoire. Continued his studies at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin (class of Frans Helmerson).

Prize-winner at the Beijing International Music Competition (Grand-Prix, 2010) and many other international competitions. In April 2013 he won 3rd prize at one of the most prestigious cello competitions – the Paulo Cello Competition in Helsinki, making him the first Russian musician to be a prize-winner at that competition. In June 2015 he won 2nd prize and the Silver Medal at the International Tchaikovsky Competition.

Since 2012 he has been a soloist at the St Petersburg House of Music, and since 2011 he has featured in concert programmes of the Moscow State Philharmonic, including the project Stars of the 21st Century. Regularly performs at the Moscow Easter Festival.

Has toured to many towns and cities in Russia, Lithuania, Sweden, Austria, Finland, South Africa, Japan, France and Bulgaria; gives recitals at the Brucknerhaus in Linz, Amsterdam's Concertgebouw, the Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre and the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall in Moscow. Collaborates with such conductors as Michail Jurowski, Vladimir Jurowski, Vladimir Spivakov, Valery Gergiev, Alexander Sladkovsky and Vladimir Fedoseyev.

Ramm’s engagements for the 2019–2020 season include concerts in Irkutsk (with Julian Rakhlin and Denis Matsuev), Moscow, Tyumen, Almaty, Yekaterinburg, Saint Petersburg, Novosibirsk, Vologda and other Russian cities as well as a performance with the Joven Orquesta Sinfónica de Soria in Soria (Spain).

Since 2011 he has played an instrument crafted by the renowned modern maker Gabriele Jebran Yakoub, presented to him by the Schreve family (Amsterdam) and Elena Lukyanova (Moscow).
Information for October 2019

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.