Olga Markova-Mikhailenko


Recipient of the 3rd prize at the International Lysenko Competition (Kiev, 1988).

Olga Markova-Mikhailenko was born in Belgorod-Dnestrovsk in the Odessa Region (Ukraine) and studied music at the Kiev State Tchaikovsky Conservatoire (class of A. Tuftina, People's Artist of the USSR). During her studies, she performed at the Conservatoire's opera studio, and from 1988 was a trainee at the Kiev Shevchenko Opera and Ballet Theatre. Olga Markova-Mikhailenko
joined the Mariinsky Opera Company in 1990.

Roles performed at the Mariinsky Theatre include:
Vanya (A Life for the Tsar)
Naina, Ratmir (Ruslan and Lyudmila)
Hostess of the inn, Old Nurse (Boris Godunov)
Konchakovna, Nurse (Prince Igor)
Vlasevna (The Maid of Pskov)
Bobylikha (The Snow Maiden)
Nezhata (Sadko)
Dunyasha, Lyubasha (The Tsar's Bride)
Babarikha (The Tale of Tsar Saltan)
Alkonost (The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh and the Maiden Fevronia)
Amelfa (The Golden Cockerel)
Nanny (The Demon)
Olga's Nanny (Eugene Onegin)
Nenila (The Enchantress)
Governess, Countess (The Queen of Spades)
Marta (Iolanta)
Death (Le rossignol)
Mother (Mavra)
Blanche, Dubious Old Woman (The Gambler)
Clarice, Linette (The Love for Three Oranges)
Mother Superior (The Fiery Angel)
Khivrya (Semyon Kotko)
Duenna (Betrothal in a Monastery)
Elderly Lady (The Nose)
Sonetka (Katerina Ismailova)
Young Briggand, Grandmother (The Story of Kai and Gerda)
Berta (Il barbiere di Siviglia)
Maddalena, Giovanna (Rigoletto)
Curra (La forza del destino)
Emilia (Otello)
Princess, Mother Superior (Suor Angelica)
Marta (Faust)
Mary (Der Fliegende Holländer)
Erda (Das Rheingold)
God-Mother (Jenůfa)
Mrs Pearce (My Fair Lady).

Has toured with the Mariinsky Opera to Spain, Germany, Italy, the Edinburgh Festival, the United States, France, Belgium, and Japan.
Her repertoire also includes the role of Zhenya Komelkova (The Dawns Here Are Quiet), the mezzo-soprano roles in Mozart's Requiem, Händel's The Messiah oratorio, Pergolesi's Stabat Mater, Prokofiev's Alexander Nevsky cantata, Stravinsky's Les Noces, Shostakovich's From Jewish Folk Poetry and romances by Russian and European composers.

Olga Markova-Mikhailenko has taken part in Mariinsky Theatre productions at the San Francisco Opera (War and Peace, Boris Godunov); she has also toured with the Mariinsky Opera Company to renowned theatres in Spain, Germany, Italy, the UK, the USA (Metropolitan Opera), Japan, Belgium, France, Israel, China, Korea, Turkey, Chile, Portugal, Argentina and Switzerland.
The singer has collaborated on audio recordings of the operas War and Peace, The Fiery Angel, Semyon Kotko, The Tsar's Bride, The Demon, The Story of a Real Man, Prince Igor and Mavra (Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra under Valery Gergiev, Philips Classics).

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.