Rodion Shchedrin


Composer

Born in Moscow to the family of composer and teacher Konstantin Shchedrin. Studied at the Central Ten-Year School of Music and subsequently at the Moscow Choral School (1944–1950) and the Moscow Conservatoire (1950–1955), composition class of Yuri Shaporin and piano class of Yakov Flier. In 1959 he completed a postgraduate study and from 1965–1969 taught composition at the conservatoire.

Works for musical theatre occupy a special place in the list of Rodion Shchedrin’s opuses – five ballets (dedicated to Maya Plisetskaya) and seven operas. Most of them feature in the repertoire of the Mariinsky Theatre – the ballets Carmen-Suite, The Little Humpbacked Horse and Anna Karenina and the operas Dead Souls, The Enchanted Wanderer, The Lefthander, which was created especially for the Mariinsky Theatre (2013), and A Christmas Tale (2015). There are regular concert performances of the Russian choral opera Boyarynya Morozova. His other works include six concerti and cycles for piano, five orchestral concerti, three symphonies and instrumental concerti.

Shchedrin generally writes the libretti for his own operas, giving particular preference to the prose of Nikolai Leskov on whose plots he based The Lefthander, The Enchanted Wanderer, the choral music The Sealed Angel and now A Christmas Tale.

© 1998 – 2017
The Mariinsky Theatre
Information
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Родион Щедрин


Композитор

Родился в Москве в семье композитора и педагога Константина Щедрина. Обучался в Центральной музыкальной школе-десятилетке, затем в Московском хоровом училище (1944–1950) и в Московской консерватории (1950–1955) в классе композиции у Юрия Шапорина и в классе фортепиано у Якова Флиера. В 1959 году окончил аспирантуру и в 1965–1969 годах преподавал в консерватории композицию.

Особое место в списке опусов Родиона Щедрина занимают произведения для музыкального театра – пять балетов, посвященных Майе Плисецкой, и семь опер. Большинство из них представлено в репертуаре Мариинского театра: балеты «Кармен-сюита», «Конек-горбунок» и «Анна Каренина», оперы «Мертвые души», «Очарованный странник» и специально созданные для Мариинского «Левша» (2013) и «Рождественская сказка» (2015). В концертном исполнении регулярно звучит русская хоровая опера «Боярыня Морозова». Среди других сочинений – шесть концертов и циклы для фортепиано; пять концертов для оркестра и три симфонии; инструментальные концерты.

Щедрин обычно сам пишет либретто для своих опер, особое предпочтение отдавая прозе Николая Лескова, на сюжеты которого написаны «Левша», «Очарованный странник», хоровая музыка «Запечатленный ангел», а теперь – и «Рождественская сказка».

© 1998 – 2017
Мариинский театр
Справочная служба
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход