Sasha Waltz


Choreographer
Sasha Waltz was born in Karlsruhe (Germany). She studied dance and choreography in Amsterdam and New York. In 1993 she co-founded her own company, Sasha Waltz & Guests, with Jochen Sandig in Berlin. In 1996 she opened the critically acclaimed Sophiensaele, a theatre she co-founded with Sandig. In 2000, Waltz was named an Artistic Director of Berlin’s Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz where she created such pieces as Körper, S and nobody as well as the choreographic installation insideout.

In 2005 Sasha Waltz & Guests once again became an independent company, with Jochen Sandig as Artistic Director. In January 2005 her first operatic choreography for Dido and Aeneas had its world premiere at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden, Berlin. In 2007 Sasha Waltz presented, among other pieces, two musical theatre choreographic works – Medea with music by Pascal Dusapin and text by Heiner Müller, which had its world premiere in Luxemburg in May as a feature of the European Capital of Culture programme, and, in October at the Opéra de Paris, Hector Berlioz’ symphonie dramatique Roméo et Juliette.

The music-based choreographic project Jagden und Formen (Zustand 2008) with music by Wolfgang Rihm and developed together with the Ensemble Modern was premiered in Frankfurt am Main in spring 2008. In March 2009 Sasha Waltz & Guests presented the project Dialoge 09 – Neues Museum at Berlin’s New Museum which was reconstructed by David Chipperfield. In 2009 Sasha Waltz received an artist’s grant at the Villa Massimo in Rome. In November 2009 Dialoge 09 – MAXXI by Sasha Waltz inaugurated Rome’s new museum for contemporary art, built by Zaha Hadid.

In 2010 her latest work, Continu, was premiered in Zurich (Switzerland), followed by her next operatic choreography, Passion (composed by Pascal Dusapin) at the Théâtre des Champs Élysées in Paris. In May 2011 the opera Matsukaze (Wind in the Pines) by Japanese composer Toshio Hosokawa with choreography by Sasha Waltz premiered at the Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brussels. In January 2012 the new choreographic concert gefaltet by Sasha Waltz and Mark Andre received its world premiere at the Mozartwoche festival under the auspices of the Stiftung Mozarteum in Salzburg (Austria).

In May 2012 she was invited by the Berliner Philharmoniker to choreograph the dance project MusicTANZ – Carmen for their education programme, with over one hundred pupils performing Rodion Shchedrin’s Carmen-Suite. 2013 sees Sasha Waltz choreographing a new version of Stravinsky’s Le Sacre du printemps, a collaboration of Sasha Waltz & Guests and the Mariinsky Ballet in St Petersburg. Le Sacre will be premiered at the Mariinsky Theatre in St Petersburg in May 2013.

Sasha Waltz was awarded the Caroline-Neuber-Preis as well as the French title of Officier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in 2010. Her most recent honour was the Bundesverdienstkreuz of the Federal Republic of Germany (2011).

© 1998 – 2017
The Mariinsky Theatre
Information
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Саша Вальц


Хореограф
Саша Вальц родилась в немецком городе Карлсруэ, училась танцам и хореографии в Амстердаме и Нью-Йорке. Совместно с Йохеном Зандигом основала в Берлине в 1993 году собственную балетную труппу Sasha Waltz & Guests («Саша Вальц и гости»), а в 1996 году – культурный центр «Софиензеле», сразу привлекший внимание критиков. В 2000 году она стала одним из художественных руководителей берлинского театра Шаубюне, где поставила спектакли «Тело», «S» и «noBody», а также хореографическую инсталляцию insideout.

В 2005 году труппа Sasha Waltz & Guests получила статус независимой, а Йохен Зандиг стал ее художественным руководителем. В январе этого же года на сцене Берлинской государственной оперы состоялась мировая премьера первой оперно-хореографической постановки Саши Вальц «Дидона и Эней». В 2007 году Вальц представила публике еще два оперно-хореографических спектакля: в Люксембурге в рамках программы «Культурная столица Европы» прошла мировая премьера оперы Паскаля Дюсапена «Медея» (либретто Хайнера Мюллера), а на сцене Парижской Оперы была показана хореографическая версия драматической симфонии Гектора Берлиоза «Ромео и Джульетта».

Весной 2008 года во Франкфурте-на-Майне состоялась премьера музыкально-хореографического проекта на музыку Вольфганга Рима «Охота и формы», поставленного совместно с ансамблем Modern. В марте 2009 года в здании Нового музея в Берлине, реконструированном по проекту Дэвида Чипперфильда, труппа Sasha Waltz & Guests представила программу «Диалог 09 – Новый музей». В том же году Саша Вальц получила грант Немецкой академии Вилла Массимо в Риме. В ноябре подготовленная ею программа «Диалог 09 – MAXXI» сопровождала открытие нового музея современного искусства в Риме, построенного по проекту архитектора Захи Хадид.

В 2010 году в Цюрихе состоялась премьера ее постановки Continu, за которой последовал очередной оперно-хореографический спектакль «Страсть» на музыку Паскаля Дюсапена, показанный в Театре Елисейских Полей в Париже. В мае 2011 года в брюссельском оперном театре Ла Монне прошла премьера оперы японского композитора Тосио Хосокавы «Мацуказе» с хореографией Саши Вальц. В январе 2012 года в Зальцбурге состоялась мировая премьера нового хореографического концерта Gefaltet, созданного Сашей Вальц совместно с Марком Андре в рамках фестиваля «Неделя Моцарта».

В мае 2012 года Берлинская филармония пригласила ее для постановки хореографического студенческого проекта «MusicTANZ – Кармен» в рамках образовательной программы. В 2013 году Саша Вальц станет одним из авторов хореографической версии «Весны Священной» Стравинского (совместная постановка труппы Sasha Waltz & Guests и балета Мариинского театра). Премьера спектакля состоится в мае 2013 года на новой сцене Мариинского театра.

В 2010 году Саша Вальц была удостоена Премии Каролины Нойбер и стала кавалером французского Ордена искусств и изящной словесности, а в 2011 году – награждена орденом «За заслуги перед Федеративной Республикой Германия».

© 1998 – 2017
Мариинский театр
Справочная служба
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход