Denis Matsuev


Piano

People’s Artist of Russia (2011)

Denis Matsuev was born in 1975 in Irkutsk. Graduated from the Tchaikovsky Moscow State Conservatory. In 1998 was the winner of the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, following which he began to tour actively throughout the world and perform with renowned symphony orchestras.

The pianist’s partners include the New York Philharmonic, the symphony orchestras of Chicago, Philadelphia, Los Angeles and Cincinnati, the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Orchestre de Paris, Leipzig’s Gewandhausorchester, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra (London) and the BBC Symphony Orchestra among numerous other ensembles. Matsuev has close artistic ties with such conductors as Valery Gergiev, Yuri Temirkanov, Zubin Mehta, Paavo Järvi, Antonio Pappano, Charles Dutoit, Alan Gilbert, Vladimir Fedoseyev, Yuri Bashmet, Mikhail Pletnev and Semyon Bychkov.

Matsuev considers his main priority to be the development of philharmonic music in Russia’s regions – and it is in Russia that he presents a significant proportion of his concert programmes, most frequently premieres. Since 1995 he has been a soloist with the Moscow Philharmonic Society, where since 2004 he has presented his personal subscription Soloist – Denis Matsuev.

Director of and inspiration behind several music festivals. Since 2004 he has run the festival Stars on Baikal in Irkutsk, while since 2005 he has been Artistic Director of the Crescendo festival, concerts of which are held in Moscow, St Petersburg, Yekaterinburg, Kaliningrad, Pskov, Tel Aviv, Paris and New York. In 2012 he became Artistic Director of the International Festival of Classical Music and Competition for Young Pianists Astana Piano Passion. Artistic Director of the International Competition for Young Pianists Grand Piano Competition (Moscow). Since 2008 President of the Charitable Foundation New Names.

In 2004 he signed a contract with the company BMG. The pianist’s first project together with the company – the solo album Tribute to Horowitz – received the Record prize in 2005. His discography also includes the disc Unknown Rachmaninoff, recorded on that composer’s piano at the Villa Senar in Lucerne (2007), the albums Denis Matsuev: The Carnegie Hall Concert (Sony, 2008), Matsuev. Liszt (RCA Red Seal, 2011), a recording of works by Shostakovich and Shchedrin (Mariinsky, 2012), Rachmaninoff’s Second Piano Concerto and Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue (2013), Szymanowski’s Third and Fourth Symphonies (2013). In 2014 his recording of Tchaikovsky’s First and Second Piano Concerti was named “Album of the Month” by Gramophone magazine. In 2018 the Mariinsky label released a recording of concerti by Prokofiev and Rachmaninoff.

Recipient of the Shostakovich Prize (2009), the State Prize of Russia (2009) and the Russian Federation Government Prize (2017). UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador and recipient of the Order of Honour of the Russian Federation. In 2019 he was awarded the Lev Nikolaev Gold Medal “for a significant contribution to enlightenment and the popularisation of the achievements in science and culture”.
Information for November 2021

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Денис Мацуев


Фортепиано

Народный артист России (2011)

Денис Мацуев родился в 1975 году в Иркутске. Окончил Московскую государственную консерваторию им. П. И. Чайковского. В 1998 году стал победителем Международного конкурса им. П. И. Чайковского в Москве и после этого начал активно гастролировать по всему миру и выступать с известными симфоническими оркестрами.

Среди партнеров пианиста – Нью-Йоркский филармонический оркестр, симфонические оркестры Чикаго, Филадельфии, Лос-Анджелеса и Цинциннати, Берлинский филармонический оркестр, Парижский оркестр, Лейпцигский оркестр Гевандхауза, Лондонский филармонический оркестр, оркестр «Филармония» (Лондон), Симфонический оркестр Би-би-си и многие другие коллективы. Тесные творческие контакты связывают Мацуева с такими дирижерами, как Валерий Гергиев, Юрий Темирканов, Зубин Мета, Пааво Ярви, Антонио Паппано, Шарль Дютуа, Алан Гилберт, Владимир Федосеев, Юрий Башмет, Михаил Плетнёв и Семен Бычков.

Главным приоритетом считает развитие филармонического искусства в регионах России – и значительную долю своих концертных программ, прежде всего премьерных, представляет в России. С 1995 года солист Московской государственной академической филармонии, где с 2004-го ведет персональный абонемент «Солист Денис Мацуев».

Директор и вдохновитель ряда музыкальных фестивалей. С 2004 года проводит фестиваль «Звезды на Байкале» в Иркутске; с 2005-го – художественный руководитель фестиваля Crescendo, концерты которого проходят в Москве, Санкт-Петербурге, Екатеринбурге, Калининграде, Пскове, Тель-Авиве, Париже и Нью-Йорке. В 2012 году стал художественным руководителем Международного фестиваля классической музыки и конкурса юных пианистов Astana Piano Passion. Художественный руководитель Международного конкурса молодых пианистов Grand Piano Competition (Москва). С 2008 года президент благотворительного фонда «Новые имена».

В 2004-м подписал контракт с компанией BMG. Первый же совместный проект пианиста с BMG – сольный альбом «Посвящение Горовицу» – получил в 2005 году премию «Рекордъ». Также в дискографии – альбом «Неизвестный Рахманинов», записанный на рояле композитора на вилле Сенар в Люцерне (2007), альбомы «Денис Мацуев. Концерт в Карнеги-холле» (Sony, 2008), «Мацуев. Лист» (RCA Red Seal, 2011), записи сочинений Шостаковича и Щедрина (Mariinsky, 2012), Концерта для фортепиано с оркестром № 2 Рахманинова и «Рапсодии в стиле блюз» Гершвина (2013), Симфоний № 3 и 4 Шимановского (2013). В 2014 году журнал Gramophone назвал «Альбомом месяца» диск с Концертами для фортепиано с оркестром № 1 и 2 Чайковского. В 2018-м на лейбле Mariinsky вышла запись концертов Прокофьева и Рахманинова.

Лауреат премии им. Д. Д. Шостаковича (2009), Государственной премии РФ (2009), премии Правительства РФ (2017). Посол доброй воли ЮНЕСКО, награжден орденом Почета Российской Федерации (2016). В 2019 году был удостоен Золотой медали им. Льва Николаева «за существенный вклад в просвещение, популяризацию достижений науки и культуры».
Информация на апрель 2021 года

Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход