Thom Willems


Composer
It is particularly hard to eradicate certain preconceptions. Even today, ballet is considered an art form for the legs and not the mind. Ballet music is considered “second-rate” and ballet music composers less important than their colleagues who compose operas. However, in 20th century ballet history one can pick out at least three teams of “composer and choreographer” which demonstrated in practice that it was not only music in the style of Minkus that had a right to be heard. Stravinsky and Balanchine embodied the ideas of neoclassicism both in music and in dance, creating a new and daring unity of the acoustic and visual components of ballet. Cage and Cunningham, enchanted by the idea of coincidence, showed that music and dance, born independently from each other, can depict an integral whole, at the same time retaining their own full autonomy.

To discuss the third team, we must speak of the future of ballet. Composer Thom Willems and choreographer William Forsythe both, from a historical point of view, started where their predecessors, Stravinsky and Balanchine, had left off. Neither Forsythe nor Willems would deny that. They have been able to modify what they have borrowed from the history of sound and movement so much that it is almost impossible to recognise their origins; moreover, these modifications are not just a nod of the head to social perturbations or artistic fashion. Thom Willems once said that “For me, pure enjoyment of the music is much more important than intellectual responsibility in the face of the entire history of music. I consciously distanced myself from the classicism of the 1950s and 60s in order not to block my own creative intentions.”

Thom Willems began composing music at the age of twelve and studied at the Conservatory of The Hague, where he balanced his studies of counterpoint with lessons in live electronic music, which at that time seemed somehow alien (compared with the classical school of composition) and derived from the West. Then, together with Forsythe, he deconstructed the traditional dance lexicon, transforming it into a new choreographic language.

If Balanchine created a visual equivalent of musical sounds and depicted rhythm and melodic structures through dance, Willems and Forsythe use music and dance as absolutely self-sufficient entities: the dynamics and general length coincide, but neither the dance nor the music are an illustration of the other. Willems and Forsythe are united by the coincidence of their artistic aims: both have an intensely deep interest in the inner structures of their art forms, leaving the interpretation of the emotional context of their works to the audience and the listener. It may be that Willems’ statement that he doesn’t compose melodies is only partly true – his compositions are filled with melodic elements that are deployed in a non-traditional manner. Willems is interested in the “melody” of urban civilisation of the kind that may be heard in Amsterdam, Tokyo or New York. His sharp flushes of synthesised sounds are instantly recognisable – like the windows of a house on a busy road being flung open. And even when the “windows” are closed, the tense whisper of sound, at times rarefied, at times rhythmic, does not let us forget the threatening presence of the megalopolis there, outside. Willems’ urban sound world could bring even fans of popular culture into a state of ecstasy, though it also has the resources to recreate a meditative musical lamento. His music is marked by sharp contrasts: falling sounds that bring to mind collapsing skyscrapers, there are soft cut-up “soft carpets” of barely perceptible sounds by means of rapid montage. It is this nakedness of extremely simple structures that interests Forsythe in Thom Willems’ music.

Eva-Elisabeth Fischer

© 1998 – 2016
The State Academic Mariinsky Theatre
Information
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
The copyright of materials published on the site belongs to the State Academic Mariinsky Theatre. When copying any materials a link to the site must be provided.
user_nameExit

Том Виллемс


Композитор
Некоторые предрассудки особенно трудно искоренить. О балете до сих пор думают как об искусстве, предназначенном для ног, а не для головы, и часто о балетной музыке отзываются как о второсортной. И все же в истории балета XX века можно насчитать по меньшей мере три артели «композитор – хореограф», которые на практике доказали, что в балете имеют право звучать не только мелодии в стиле Минкуса. Стравинский и Баланчин воплотили идеи неоклассицизма и в музыке, и в танце, создав новое дерзновенное единство акустической и визуальной составляющих балета. Кейдж и Каннинхем, очарованные идеей случайности, показали, что музыка и танец, рожденные независимо друг от друга, способны образовывать целое, сохраняя при этом свою полную автономию.

Рассуждая о третьей артели, придется говорить о будущем балета. Композитор Том Виллемс и хореограф Уильям Форсайт – оба, на взгляд историка, начали там, где остановились их предшественники – Стравинский и Баланчин. Ни Форсайт, ни Виллемс не станут этого отрицать. Они сумели модифицировать заимствования из истории звучания и движения настолько, что в них почти невозможно опознать источники; к тому же модификации эти – не просто дань социальным пертурбациям или художественной моде. Том Виллемс однажды сказал: «Для меня чистое наслаждение музыкой куда важнее, чем интеллектуальная ответственность перед лицом всей истории музыки. Я сознательно дистанцировался от академизма 50-60-х, чтобы не блокировать собственных творческих интенций».

Том Виллемс начал сочинять музыку в двенадцать лет, учился в Гаагской консерватории, где уравновешивал изучение контрапункта занятиями живой электронной музыкой, казавшейся тогда чем-то внешним (по отношению к академической композиторской школе), привнесенным с Запада. Потом вместе с Форсайтом он деконструировал традиционный танцевальный словарь, трансформировав его в новый хореографический язык.

Если Баланчин создавал визуальный эквивалент музыкальным звучаниям, выявлял ритм и мелодические структуры через танец, то Виллемс и Форсайт оперируют музыкой и танцем как абсолютно самодостаточными величинами: динамика и общая длительность совпадают, но ни танец, ни музыка не иллюстрируют друг друга. Объединяет Виллемса и Форсайта совпадение художественных устремлений: оба питают глубочайший интерес к внутренним структурам своих искусств, оставляя расшифровку эмоционального контекста своих произведений зрителю-слушателю. Правда, утверждение Виллемса о том, что он принципиально не пишет мелодий, верно лишь отчасти – его композиции переполнены мелодическими элементами, развертывающимися в нетрадиционном ключе. Виллемса интересует «мелодия» урбанистической цивилизации, та, которую можно услышать в Амстердаме, Токио или Нью-Йорке. Его резкие всплески синтезированных звуков узнаваемы – словно в жилище на оживленной магистрали распахнули окна. И даже когда «окна» закрыты, напряженный звуковой шепот, то разреженный, то ритмичный, не дает забыть об угрожающем присутствии мегаполиса там, снаружи. Урбанистический звуковой мир Виллемса может привести в экстаз даже поклонника поп-культуры, но в нем есть и ресурсы для воспроизводства медитативного музыкального ламенто. Его музыка смакует резкие контрасты: звуковые обвалы, напоминающие о рушащихся небоскребах, взрезают мягкие ковры из еле слышных шумов посредством стремительного монтажа. Именно эта обнаженность простейших структур и интересует Форсайта в творчестве Тома Виллемса.

Эва-Элизабет Фишер
Перевод Ольги Комок

© 1998 – 2017
Мариинский театр
Справочная служба
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход