St Petersburg, Concert Hall

Moscow Chamber Orchestra Musica Viva

Igor Stravinsky. Concerto in E-flat Dumbarton Oaks, for chamber orchestra

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach. Bach Cello concerto in A major (H 439; Wq 172)
Soloist  Alexander Rudin

Aulis Sallinen. The Nocturnal Dances of DonJuanQuixote, for cello and strings, Op. 58
Soloist  Alexander Rudin

Joseph Haydn. Symphony No. 95 in C minor

"This orchestra is one of the most professional and respected in Moscow... The orchestra's range enables it to find unconventional interpretations, to attract attention to itself by means of exclusive projects".
"Ezhenedelny Zhurnal" (Weekly Journal)

"I would be happy to come to Moscow again to conduct 'Musica Viva'. I think it is a fantastic orchestra... ".
Sir Roger Norrington (Вritain)

The "Musica Viva" Chamber Orchestra from Moscow is one of the capital's most popular chamber ensembles. Its soloists are highly professional musicians who are masters of all styles and genres: from baroque to the innovations of contemporary composers and jazz. "A kingdom of singing violins, a limpid texture and an impeccable sense of ensemble, perfect understanding between the conductor and the orchestra" was how the reviewer for the "Novye Izvestiya" newspaper characterised the playing of "Musica Viva". The orchestra was founded in Vladimir in 1978 by the violinist and conductor Viktor Kornachyov. Since 1988 its director has been the well-known cellist, pianist and conductor Alexander Rudin. In 2008 the ensemble was granted the status of "Moscow Chamber Orchestra under the auspices of the Moscow Department of Culture".

More detailed information about the orchestra can be found on the website

Age category 6+

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.