Larry Porter


Piano

Larry Porter was born in 1951 in Cleveland (Ohio) and began to study the piano at the age of six. Trained at the Eastman School of Music in Rochester and at the Berklee College of Music in Boston. In 1973 he moved to Munich and began to appear with such musicians as Bobby Jones, Sal Nistico, Leszek Żądło, Volker Kriegel, Kai Winding, Mel Lewis and Günter Lenz. In 1976 he undertook a tour of the Asia. During his travels he studied the music of Central Asia, Afghanistan and India and took lessons on the rebab in Kabul and on the sarod in New Delhi.
From 1977–1980 he lived in New York, often appearing as a jazz pianist and performer of traditional eastern instruments.
In 1981 he returned to Germany, and one year later together with Los Angeles saxophonist Allan Praksin he founded a quartet which was together for eleven years.
From 1986–1988 he frequently collaborated with Chet Baker, Marvin Peterson, Heinz Sauer, Benny Bailey, Don Menza and Leo Wright. From 1988–1992 he performed with the Art Farmer Quintet.

Also works as a composer. His works combine elements of jazz, classical music and the musical traditions of Central Asia, India and Afghanistan. In 1990 he received a prize at the Jazz Chorus Composition Competition in Cologne for the work Vergänglichkeit to words by Hermann Hesse.

In 2000 with the guitarist and composer Mundell Lowe he recorded the disc Mundell’s Moods. 2004 saw the release of the disc The Circle Is Unbroken with the musician's original compositions performed by the Larry Porter Trio, and in 2005 there came an album of songs by the composer performed by the acclaimed jazz singer Barbara Mayr. That same year at the Philharmonie in Berlin came the premiere of Kind of Jazz Suite, commissioned from Porter by the Philharmonie. 2010 saw the release of the disc Silk Road Blues featuring compositions for piano, the rebab and percussion.

In 2015 Porter was commissioned by the Theater der Altmark in Stendal (Germany) to compose music for Gotthold Ephraim Lessing's play Nathan der Weise.

Currently deeply involved in musical activities, appearing in recitals and with ensembles in Germany, Austria, Poland, The Netherlands, Denmark, Italy and Russia.

© 1998 – 2017
The Mariinsky Theatre
Information
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Ларри Портер


Фортепиано

Ларри Портер родился в 1951 году в Кливленде (Огайо) и в шесть лет занялся игрой на фортепиано. Обучался в Истменской школе музыки в Рочестере и Музыкальном колледже Беркли в Бостоне. В 1973 году переехал в Мюнхен и начал выступать с такими артистами, как Бобби Джонс, Сэл Нистико, Лешек Жондло, Фолькер Кригель, Кай Виндинг, Мел Льюис и Гюнтер Ленц. В 1976 году совершил поездку по странам Азии, во время которой изучал музыку Средней Азии, Афганистана и Индии, брал уроки игры на ребабе в Кабуле и на сароде в Нью-Дели.
В 1977–1980 годах проживал в Нью-Йорке, активно выступая как джазовый пианист и исполнитель на традиционных восточных инструментах.
В 1981 году вернулся в Германию, а в следующем году основал с саксофонистом из Лос-Анджелеса Алланом Праскином квартет, просуществовавший 11 лет.
В 1986–1988 годах много сотрудничал с Четом Бейкером, Марвином Петерсоном, Хайнцем Зауэром, Бенни Бейли, Доном Менцей и Лео Райтом. В 1988–1992 годах играл в составе Квинтета Арта Фармера.

Занимается композиторской деятельностью. В своих произведениях сочетает элементы джаза и академической музыки с музыкальными традициями Средней Азии, Индии и Афганистана. В 1990 году получил премию на Конкурсе джазовых хоровых композиций в Кёльне за сочинение Vergänglichkeit на слова Германа Гессе.

В 2000 году записал c гитаристом и композитором Манделлом Лоу диск Mundell’s Moods. В 2004 году вышел диск The Circle Is Unbroken с оригинальными композициями артиста в исполнении Трио Ларри Портера, в 2005 году – альбом с его песнями в исполнении известной джазовой певицы Барбары Майр. В том же году в Берлинской филармонии состоялась премьера пьесы Kind of Jazz Suite, написанной Портером по заказу филармонии. В 2010 году был выпущен диск Silk Road Blues с произведениями для фортепиано, ребаба и ударных.

В 2015 году по заказу Театра дер Альтмарк в Штендале (Германия) Портер написал музыку к драме Готхольда Эфраима Лессинга «Натан мудрый».

В настоящее время ведет активную концертную деятельность, выступая сольно и в составе ансамблей в Германии, Австрии, Польше, Нидерландах, Дании, Италии и России.

© 1998 – 2017
Мариинский театр
Справочная служба
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход