Vasily Popov


Upcoming performances:
 
8 June 2019
 
11 June 2019
 
18 June 2019
 
25 June 2019
Piano

• Recipient of a “Best Accompanist” diploma at the 11th Elena Obraztsova International Competition of Young Opera Singers (St Petersburg, 2017)
• Recipient of a “Best Accompanist” diploma (category for accompanists specialising in solo singing) at the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition (Moscow – St Petersburg, 2015)
• Recipient of a “Best Accompanist” diploma at the 9th Rimsky-Korsakov International Competition for Young Opera Singers (Tikhvin, 2015)
• Recipient of a “Best Accompanist” diploma at the 5th and 7th All-Russian Nadezhda Obukhova Young Vocalists’ competitions (Lipetsk, 2012 and 2016)

Vasily Popov was born in Leningrad. In 2011 he graduated from the Piano Faculty of the Rimsky-Korsakov St Petersburg State Conservatory (class of Ekaterina Murina).

Since 2010 he has been an accompanist at the Mariinsky Academy of Young Opera Singers.

With the academy’s soloists he has worked on rehearsals of the operas La sonnambula, Anna Bolena, La traviata, Les Pêcheurs de perles, Ariadne auf Naxos, Eugene Onegin, Kashchey the Immortal, Rachmaninoff’s Francesca da Rimini, Into the Storm, Colas Breugnon and Weinberg’s The Idiot among others.

From 2015 to 2019 he regularly appeared as an accompanist in the theatre’s chamber venues, also presenting concert programmes with opera soloists. The pianist’s repertoire includes Rebikov’s Christmas Tree, Prokofiev’s Maddalena and The Giant, Shostakovich’s Orango, Britten’s The Little Sweep, Butsko’s White Nights and Tariverdiev’s Expectation. Has performed at such premieres as  An Opera About Porridge, a Cat and Milk and Scenes from the Life of Nikolenka Irteniev by Banevich, Anna, Zinaida and The Little Prince by Klinichev. As part of the anniversary Year of Musorgsky – held in the 2014–15 season – together with soloists from the Academy of Young Opera Singers he gave a series of chamber music concerts featuring that composer’s complete works for voice. Has participated in the concert series All Rimsky-Korsakov Romances and All Tchaikovsky Romances. Has produced recordings for the programme Legendary Singers of the Imperial Theatres on Radio Orpheus.

Has accompanied Olga Borodina at her recital performances at the Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre, the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall in Moscow and the Teatro di San Carlo in Naples (2017, 2018) and Ekaterina Semenchuk at her recital performances at the Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre (2020, 2021).

Has participated in concerts and festivals held in Finland, Italy, Great Britain and Austria.

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Василий Попов


Концертмейстер

• Обладатель диплома «Лучший концертмейстер» на XI Международном конкурсе молодых оперных певцов Елены Образцовой (Санкт-Петербург, 2017)
• Обладатель диплома «Лучший концертмейстер» (среди концертмейстеров специальности «сольное пение») на XV Международном конкурсе им. П. И. Чайковского (Москва – Санкт-Петербург, 2015)
• Обладатель диплома «Лучший концертмейстер» на IX Международном конкурсе молодых оперных певцов им. Н. А. Римского-Корсакова (Тихвин, 2015)
• Обладатель диплома «Лучший концертмейстер» на V и VII Всероссийских конкурсах молодых вокалистов им. Надежды Обуховой (Липецк, 2012, 2016)

Василий Попов родился в Ленинграде. В 2011 году окончил фортепианный факультет Санкт-Петербургской государственной консерватории им. Н. А. Римского-Корсакова (класс Екатерины Муриной).

С 2010 года – концертмейстер Академии молодых оперных певцов Мариинского театра.

C солистами академии готовил к исполнению оперы «Сомнамбула», «Анна Болейн», «Травиата», «Искатели жемчуга», «Ариадна на Наксосе», «Евгений Онегин», «Кащей Бессмертный», «Франческа да Римини» Рахманинова, «В бурю», «Кола Брюньон», «Идиот» Вайнберга и др.

В 2015–2019 годах регулярно выступал как аккомпаниатор в камерных залах театра, исполняя с солистами оперы и концертные программы. В репертуаре пианиста – «Елка» Ребикова, «Маддалена» и «Великан» Прокофьева, «Оранго» Шостаковича, «Маленький трубочист» Бриттена, «Белые ночи» Буцко, «Ожидание» Таривердиева. Играл также на премьерах спектаклей «Опера про кашку, кошку и молоко» и «Сцены из жизни Николеньки Иртеньева» Баневича, «Анна», «Зинаида» и «Маленький принц» Клиничева. В рамках юбилейного Года Мусоргского – в сезоне 2014–2015 годов – провел с солистами Академии молодых оперных певцов цикл камерных концертов, в котором прозвучали все вокальные сочинения композитора. Участвовал в циклах концертов «Все романсы Римского-Корсакова» и «Все романсы Чайковского». Осуществлял записи для программы «Легендарные певцы императорских театров» на радио «Орфей».

Аккомпанировал Ольге Бородиной на ее сольных выступлениях в Концертном зале Мариинского театра, московском Концертном зале им. П. И. Чайковского и неаполитанском театре Сан-Карло (2017, 2018), Екатерине Семенчук на ее сольных выступлениях в Концертном зале Мариинского театра (2020, 2021).

Участник концертов и фестивалей в Финляндии, Италии, Великобритании, Австрии.

Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход