Vyacheslav Okunev


Set designer and costume designer

People’s Artist of Russia (2011)

Vyacheslav Okunev was born in Leningrad in 1957. In 1979 he graduated from the Stage Production Faculty of the Cherkasov Leningrad State Institute of Theatre, Music and Film (workshop of Ilya Segal).

As a set and costume designer he has worked on more than three hundred and fifty productions.

For many years he has collaborated with the Mariinsky Theatre. His works include Delibes’ Coppélia, Stravinsky’s Mavra and Les Noces, Alexander Tchaikovsky’s The Government Inspector, Rimsky-Korsakov’s Kashchey the Deathless, Prokofiev’s The Love for Three Oranges (1991), Mozart’s Le nozze di Figaro (1998) and Die Fledermaus (2020). Has revived the sets for Fyodor Fedorovsky’s productions of Khovanshchina (1989) and The Maid of Pskov (2008), Konstantin Korovin’s designs for Sadko (1993), Pyotr Schildknecht’s designs for Aida (1998) and Alexander Konstantinovsky’s designs for Prince Igor and Mazepa (2009).

Vyacheslav Okunev is Principal Designer of the Mikhailovsky Theatre. Productions at the Mikhailovsky Theatre on which he has worked include The Tale of Tsar Saltan, The Tsar’s Bride, La traviata, Otello, Rigoletto, Tosca, Carmen, Il barbiere di Siviglia, Die Csárdásfürstin, Die Fledermaus, Faust, Don Giovanni, Iolanta, Don Quixote, La Bayadère, The Sleeping Beauty, Swan Lake, The Nutcracker, Raymonda, Giselle and Spartacus among others. Productions he has designed also include works for the Boris Eifman Ballet Theatre, the St Petersburg Chamber Opera and the Novosibirsk Opera and Ballet Theatre. The artist has collaborated with the Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre, the Yekaterinburg Opera and Ballet Theatre and the Rostov Musical Theatre. At the Bolshoi Theatre of Russia Vyacheslav Okunev has designed productions of La Sylphide, Russian Hamlet and Khovanshchina.

The artist has worked abroad a great deal, including at the Theatre Royal in Glasgow, the National Opera of Greece, the Teatr Wielki – Opera Narodowa (Warsaw), the National Opera of Hungary, the National Theater of Korea (Seoul), the National Theatre of Japan and New York City Ballet. Productions designed by Vyacheslav Okunev have been performed at such venues in Italy as the Teatro alla Scala, the Arena di Verona and the Teatro Lirico di Cagliari.

Recipient of the State Prizes of the Republics of Moldova, Belarus and Kazakhstan. Recipient of the Golden Sofit, St Petersburg’s most prestigious theatre award, in 2020 for his set and costume designs for Fiddler on the Roof directed by Lev Rakhlin (the Baltic House Theatre-Festival).
Information for December 2020

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Вячеслав Окунев


 

Художник-постановщик, художник по костюмам

Народный художник России (2011)

Вячеслав Окунев родился в 1957 году в Ленинграде. В 1979-м окончил постановочный факультет Ленинградского государственного института театра, музыки и кинематографии им. Н. К. Черкасова (мастерская Ильи Сегаля).

Как художник-постановщик и художник по костюмам осуществил более 350 постановок.

В течение многих лет сотрудничает с Мариинским театром. Среди его работ – «Коппелия» Делиба, «Мавра» и «Свадебка» Стравинского, «Ревизор» Александра Чайковского, «Кащей Бессмертный» Римского-Корсакова, «Любовь к трем апельсинам» Прокофьева (1991), «Свадьба Фигаро» Моцарта (1998), «Летучая мышь» (2020). Возобновил декорации Федора Федоровского к «Хованщине» (1989) и «Псковитянке» (2008), Константина Коровина к «Садко» (1993), Петра Шильдкнехта к «Аиде» (1998), Александра Константиновского к «Князю Игорю» и «Мазепе» (2009).

Вячеслав Окунев – главный художник Михайловского театра. В числе спектаклей, оформленных им в Михайловском театре, – «Сказка о царе Салтане», «Царская невеста», «Травиата», «Отелло», «Риголетто», «Тоска», «Кармен», «Севильский цирюльник», «Сильва», «Летучая мышь», «Фауст», «Дон Жуан» «Иоланта», балет «Дон Кихот», «Баядерка», «Спящая красавица», «Лебединое озеро», «Щелкунчик», «Раймонда», «Жизель», «Спартак» и др. Оформленные им спектакли идут также в Театре балета Бориса Эйфмана, театре «Санктъ-Петербургъ Опера», Новосибирском театре оперы и балета. Художник сотрудничал с Екатеринбургским театром оперы и балета, Пермским театром оперы и балета, Ростовским музыкальным театром. В Большом театре России Вячеслав Окунев оформил спектакли «Сильфида», «Русский Гамлет», «Хованщина».

Художник много работал за рубежом, в том числе в Королевском театре Глазго, Национальной опере Греции, Большом театре – Национальной опере (Варшава), Национальной опере Венгрии, Национальном театре Кореи (Сеул), Национальном театре Японии, Нью-Йорк Сити балете. Спектакли, оформленные Вячеславом Окуневым, шли на нескольких итальянских площадках: Ла Скала, Арена-ди-Верона, Оперный театр Кальяри.

Лауреат Государственных премий Республик Молдова, Беларусь и Казахстан. Удостоен Высшей театральной премии Санкт-Петербурга «Золотой софит» (2020) за сценографию и костюмы к  спектаклю «Скрипач на крыше» в постановке Льва Рахлина (театр-фестиваль «Балтийский дом»).
Информация на декабрь 2020 года

Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход