Thomas Sanderling


Upcoming performances:
13 April 2018

Sinaisky, whose conducting is precise and sensuous and who has a near-perfect technique, must have sharpened the senses of the Gewandhaus. This orchestra rarely plays with such boundless generosity, with such flexible dynamic range, with such voluptuous use of colour, so rich in detail and with such a grasp of structure. A truly great Shostakovich – moving, truthful and unsettling.

Leipziger Volkszeitung

Conductor

Thomas Sanderling grew up in St. Petersburg, where his father, conductor Kurt Sanderling, was permanent conductor of the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra. He graduated from the Music School of the Leningrad Conservatory and went on to study conducting at the Hochschule für Musik in East Berlin, becoming Music Director of the Halle Opera at age 24. By his mid-twenties he was working with every major orchestra in East Germany, performing in famous venues including the Dresden Staatskapelle and the Leipzig Gewandhaus, and won the Berlin Critics’ Prize for his opera performances at the Komische Oper Berlin. His CD of Shostakovich's Michelangelo Suite (premiere recording) led to his becoming assistant to both Herbert von Karajan and Leonard Bernstein. In the early 1980s he was appointed permanent guest conductor with the Deutsche Staatsoper Unter Den Linden, which was followed with his successful debut at the Wiener Staatsoper, conducting Die Zauberflöte.

He has conducted many orchestras including BBC Scottish, Baltimore Symphony, Bayerische Rundfunk Symphony Orchestra; Bergen Philharmonic; Bournemouth Symphony; Czech Philharmonic, Dallas Symphony, Deutsches Symphonie Orchester, Dresden Staatskapelle; Dresden Philharmonic, Gewandhaus Orchestra Leipzig, Halle Orchestra UK, Helsinki Philharmonic, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, London Philharmonic, Montreal Symphony, NDR Hamburg Symphony Orchestra, Oslo Philharmonic, Philharmonia Orchestra, Pittsburg Symphony, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Royal Philharmonic, Radio Philharmonic Hilversum, Royal Stockholm, St Petersburg Philharmonic, Tchaikowsky Radio Symphony (Moscow), Vancouver Symphony, WDR Symphony Cologne, Sydney Symphony, Novosibirsk Philharmonic etc. He is also a regular guest conductor of radio orchestras in Germany.

Thomas Sanderling was awarded the title of Lifetime Music Director Laureate by Osaka Symphony Orchestra. With this orchestra he won the Grand Prix of the Osaka Critics twice in three years.

He has enjoyed a close relationship with Dmitri Shostakovich and his family for many years and still works in close collaboration with Irina Shostakovich. He originally met Dmitri Shostakovich whilst making his Moscow debut, conducting the State Orchestra of Russia, on the invitation of Evgeny Svetlanov, as a result of winning a conducting competition in East Germany. Greatly impressed, Shostakovich entrusted him with the translation into German of the texts of his 13th and 14th Symphonies; later he conducted the German premieres of both works. He also conducted the world premiere recording of the Michelangelo Suite followed by the concert premiere of two British song cycles for which he also set the original English text: Six Romances on Verses by British Poets and Anglo-American folk Songs. Both works were performed with Bayerische Rundfunk Symphony Orchestra in Munich, recorded live and released on the Orfeo label in 2012. Inspired by Irina Shostakovich, he created an Italian version of the Michelangelo Suite, which is dedicated to her.

Thomas Sanderling has appeared in numerous opera houses including Wiener Staatsoper, Deutsche Oper Unter den Linden, Deutsche Oper Berlin, Bayerische Staatsoper, Hamburgische Staatsoper, Komische Oper Berlin, Bolshoi Theatre, Mariinsky Theatre, Det Kongelige Teater Denmark, Finnish National Opera, Teatro La Fenice di Venezia, and Opéra de Nice.

He has recorded for many companies including: Deutsche Grammophon, Sony Classical International, Naxos, BIS, Chandos, Audite, and Berlin Classics. His prizes and awards include Cannes Classical Award, INMA Award and a Grammy Nomination.

Recent highlights: Russian premiere of Leonard Bernstein's Symphony No. 3 at the Grand Festival of the Russian National Orchestra in Moscow. Concert appearances in Berlin and Vienna, conducting Japan Virtuoso Symphony, St. Petersburg Philharmonic, Tchaikovsky Symphony Moscow, Helsinki Philharmonic, and Svetlanov State Orchestra.

© 1998 – 2017
The Mariinsky Theatre
Information
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Томас Зандерлинг


Дирижер

Томас Зандерлинг родился в Новосибирске, в семье Курта Зандерлинга – дирижера Симфонического оркестра Ленинградской государственной филармонии. Окончил Среднюю специальную музыкальную школу при Ленинградской государственной консерватории им. Н. А. Римского-Корсакова и Берлинскую высшую школу музыки им. Ханса Эйслера.

В 24 года стал музыкальным руководителем Оперного театра Галле. В дальнейшем дирижировал ведущими оркестрами Восточной Германии, такими как Дрезденская государственная капелла и лейпцигский Гевандхаус-оркестр, и получил приз берлинских критиков за спектакли в Берлинской комической опере. Был ассистентом Герберта фон Караяна и Леонарда Бернстайна.

В 1980-е годы стал постоянным приглашенным дирижером Берлинской государственной оперы и дебютировал в Венской государственной опере. Также сотрудничал с Шотландским симфоническим оркестром Би-би-си, Балтиморским симфоническим оркестром, Симфоническим оркестром Баварского радио, Бергенским филармоническим оркестром, Борнмутским симфоническим оркестром, Чешским филармоническим оркестром, Далласским симфоническим оркестром, Немецким симфоническим оркестром Берлина, Дрезденским филармоническим оркестром, Оркестром Галле, Хельсинкским филармоническим оркестром, берлинским Концертхаус-оркестром, Лондонским филармоническим оркестром, Монреальским симфоническим оркестром, Симфоническим оркестром Северогерманского радио, Филармоническим оркестром Осло, лондонским оркестром «Филармония», Питтсбургским симфоническим оркестром, Королевским филармоническим оркестром Ливерпуля и многими другими коллективами. Регулярно выступает с различными оркестрами Германии.
Как дирижер Симфонического оркестра Осаки дважды удостаивался Гран-при критиков Осаки и получил пожизненный титул почетного музыкального руководителя коллектива.

В течение многих лет общался с Шостаковичем и исполнял его музыку. Впервые встретился с композитором во время дебютного выступления с Государственным академическим симфоническим оркестром СССР в Москве. После этого Шостакович доверил Зандерлингу перевести на немецкий язык тексты его симфоний № 13 и № 14 и продирижировать премьерами сочинений в Германии. Также Томас Зандерлинг осуществил премьерную запись сюиты «Сонеты Микеланджело Буонаротти» Шостаковича и дирижировал премьерами его циклов «Шесть песен на стихи английских поэтов» и «Восемь английских и американских народных песен». Эти циклы были записаны во время концерта и изданы на лейбле Orfeo в 2012 году. По инициативе вдовы композитора, Ирины Шостакович, сделал итальянскую версию «Сонетов Микеланджело Буонаротти».

Выступал как дирижер в Венской государственной опере, берлинской Дойче-опер, Баварской государственной опере, Гамбургской государственной опере, Большом театре России, Мариинском театре, Королевском театре Дании, Финской национальной опере, театре Ла Фениче и Опере Ниццы.

Сотрудничает со звукозаписывающими компаниями Deutsche Grammophon, Sony Classical, Naxos, BIS, Chandos, Audite и Berlin Classics. За свои записи неоднократно получал Каннскую премию в области классической музыки. Лауреат премии INMA и номинант на премию «Грэмми».

Среди недавних ангажементов – российская премьера Симфонии № 3 Бернстайна на Большом фестивале Российского национального оркестра в Москве, концерты в Берлине и Вене, выступления с симфоническим оркестром «Виртуозы Японии», Заслуженным коллективом России Академическим симфоническим оркестром Санкт-Петербургской филармонии, Хельсинкским филармоническим оркестром и Большим симфоническим оркестром им. П.И. Чайковского.

© 1998 – 2017
Мариинский театр
Справочная служба
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход