Saulus Sondeckis


Conductor

• People’s Artist of the USSR
• Recipient of the State Prize of the USSR

Founder of the acclaimed Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra and head of the Orchestra of the State Hermitage, maestro Saulus Sondeckis tours throughout the world, participates in major international festivals, has conducted the most prominent symphony orchestras and is a jury member of various international competitions.

The international press has invariably commented on his supreme professionalism, refined musical tastes and artistic bravery in conjunction with his attitude to the finest orchestral performing traditions.

Saulus Sondeckis was born in 1928 in Shiauliai (Lithuania). He began his performing career as a violinist. Graduated from the Vilnius Conservatoire (violin class of Alexander Livont, 1952) and completed a post-graduate study at the Moscow Conservatoire in 1960. In 1963 he spent six months under the tutelage of French conductor Igor Markevitch and his assistant Otto-Werner Mueller.

In 1955 he became Director of the String Quartet of the Vilnius Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis School of Arts. This ensemble won the Gold Medal for youth orchestras as the International Herbert von Karajan Foundation Competition (Berlin, 1976).

In 1960 he founded and remains the Director of the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra. At the VI Berlin Contemporary Music Biennale in 1977 the orchestra and its Director were awarded the critics’ prize “For the Best Interpretation”. In 1985 Alfred Schnittke composed his Concerto Grosso No 3 to mark the twenty-fifth anniversary of the ensemble.

Under the baton of Saulus Sondeckis the orchestra has won widespread international acclaim. Renowned musicians that have collaborated with the orchestra include Yehudi Menuhin, Oleg Kagan, Natalia Gutman, Vladimir Spivakov, Gidon Kremer, Tatiana Grindenko, Vladimir Krainev, Leopoldas Digrys, David Geringas, Karine Georgian, Mikhail Khomitser, Timofei Dokschizer and Virgilijus Kęstutis Noreika among others.

In the 1975–76 season under Saulus Sondeckis the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra was a partner of Professor Tatiana Nikolaeva, giving the Moscow premiere of a series of twelve keyboard concerti by Bach for one, two, three and four soloists with orchestra.

In 1988 Saulus Sondeckis became director of the St Petersburg Camerata orchestra, which included graduates and students of the Leningrad Conservatoire. In a very short period the ensemble achieved extremely high professional and artistic successes and in 1994 was awarded the status of “Orchestra of the State Hermitage”.

As a Guest Conductor, Saulus Sondeckis has appeared with numerous European ensembles including the State Academic Symphony Orchestra of Russia, the Academic Symphony Orchestra of the St Petersburg Philharmonic (Honoured Ensemble of Russia), the Russian National Orchestra, the Orchestre National de Belgique, the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Orchestre National de Radio France, the Klagenfurt Symphony Orchestra, the Toronto Philharmonic, the Bydgoszcz Symphony Orchestra (Poland), the Budapest Festival Orchestra and the Chamber Orchestras of Lausanne and Patra (Greece) among others.

Maestro Sondeckis is a regular participant at major music festivals. He has directed the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra, founded by Leonard Bernstein. At the Salzburg Festival in 1988 he conducted the ballet Othello (to music by Schnittke and Pärt) featuring John Neumeier’s company. In 1994 he conducted Mozart’s opera Die Zauberflöte and Gluck’s Orfeo ed Euridice at the Mariinsky Theatre and the Hermitage Theatre.

Saulus Sondeckis has been the recipient of numerous titles, awards and prizes. The most prestigious include 1st prize and Gold Medal at the Herbert von Karajan Competition (1963), the State Prize of the USSR (1987), People’s Artist of the USSR (1980) and Professor of the Lithuanian Academy of Music (since 1977). He was a co-founder of the programme The Hermitage Academy of Music and is President of the Hermitage Academy of Music Foundation (since 1997).

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Саулюс Сондецкис


Дирижер

• Народный артист СССР
• Лауреат Государственной премии СССР

Создатель прославленного Литовского камерного оркестра и глава Оркестра Государственного Эрмитажа, маэстро Саулюс Сондецкис гастролирует во многих странах мира, участвует в крупнейших международных фестивалях, выступает за пультом ведущих симфонических оркестров, приглашается в жюри различных международных конкурсов.

Мировая пресса неизменно отмечает его высочайший профессионализм, изысканный музыкальный вкус, творческую смелость в сочетании с почтительным отношением к лучшим оркестровым исполнительским традициям.

Саулюс Сондецкис родился в 1928 году в Шауляе (Литва). Начал свою артистическую карьеру как скрипач. Окончил Вильнюсскую консерваторию по классу скрипки у Александра Ливонта (1952) и в 1960 году – аспирантуру Московской консерватории. В 1963 году прошел полугодовой курс у французского дирижера Игоря Маркевича и его ассистента Отто-Вернера Мюллера.

В 1955 году стал руководителем Струнного оркестра Вильнюсской школы искусств имени Микалоюса Константинаса Чюрлёниса. Этот коллектив завоевал Золотую медаль среди молодежных оркестров на Международном конкурсе «Фонд Герберта фон Караяна» (Берлин, 1976).

С 1960 года – основатель и бессменный руководитель Литовского камерного оркестра. На VI Берлинской биеннале современной музыки в 1977 году оркестр и его руководитель были удостоены приза критики «За лучшую интерпретацию». В 1985 году Альфред Шнитке сочинил Concerto grosso № 3 в честь празднования 25-летия оркестра.

Под управлением Саулюса Сондецкиса коллектив завоевал широкое международное признание. Среди известных музыкантов, сотрудничавших с коллективом – Иегуди Менухин, Олег Каган, Наталия Гутман, Владимир Спиваков, Гидон Кремер, Татьяна Гринденко, Владимир Крайнев, Леопольдас Дигрис, Давид Герингас, Каринэ Георгиан, Михаил Хомицер, Тимофей Докшицер, Виргилиус-Кястутис Норейка и многие другие.

В сезоне 1975–76 годов Литовский камерный оркестр под управлением Саулюса Сондецкиса был партнером профессора Татьяны Николаевой, вместе со своими учениками впервые исполнившей в Москве цикл из 12 клавирных концертов Баха для одного, двух, трех и четырех солистов с оркестром.

В 1988 году Саулюс Сондецкис возглавил оркестр «Санкт-Петербургская камерата», в котором играли выпускники и студенты Ленинградской консерватории. За короткий срок коллектив достиг высокого профессионального и художественного уровня и с 1994 года получил статус Оркестра Государственного Эрмитажа.

В качестве приглашенного дирижера Саулюс Сондецкис выступает со многими европейскими оркестрами, среди которых Государственный академический симфонический оркестр России, Заслуженный коллектив России Академический симфонический оркестр Санкт-Петербургской филармонии, Российский национальный оркестр, Национальный оркестр Бельгии, Берлинский филармонический оркестр, Оркестр Радио Франции, Симфонический оркестр Клагенфурта, Филармонический оркестр Торонто, Симфонический оркестр Быдогоща (Польша), Фестивальный оркестр Будапешта, камерные оркестры Лозанны и Патр (Греция) и другие коллективы.

Маэстро Сондецкис – постоянный участник крупнейших музыкальных фестивалей. Он руководил основанным Леонардом Бернстайном Оркестром Шлезвиг-Гольштейнского фестиваля. На Зальцбургском фестивале 1988 года дирижировал балетом «Отелло» (на музыку Шнитке и Пярта), исполненным труппой Джона Ноймайера. В 1994 году дирижировал операми «Волшебная флейта» Моцарта и «Орфей и Эвридика» Глюка в Мариинском и Эрмитажном театрах.

Саулюс Сондецкис – обладатель многих титулов, наград и званий. Наиболее престижные из них: лауреат I премии и Золотой медали конкурса Фонда Герберта фон Караяна (1963), лауреат Государственной премии СССР (1987), Народный артист СССР (1980), профессор Литовской академии музыки (с 1977 года). Является одним из основателей программы «Эрмитажная академия музыки» и президентом Фонда «Эрмитажной академии музыки» (с 1997 года).

Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход