Pavel Smelkov


Upcoming performances:
28 October 2017
15 November 2017
17 November 2017
22 November 2017
Conductor

Pavel Smelkov graduated from the St Petersburg State Rimsky-Korsakov Conservatoire in opera and symphony music conducting (class of Professors Ilya Musin and Mikhail Kukushkin) and composition (class of Professor Alexander Mnatsakanian). In 1999 he founded the Baltic Youth Chamber Orchestra and for fifteen years was its Artistic Director and Conductor.

Since 2000 Pavel Smelkov has worked at the Mariinsky Theatre. The conductor has toured with the company to France, Finland, Austria, Germany, Israel and the USA. His repertoire includes the operas Idomeneo, re di Creta, Don Giovanni, Attila, Rigoletto, Don Carlo, Otello, Falstaff, Die Frau ohne Schatten, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, The Turn of the Screw, Prince Igor, Boris Godunov, Sorochintsy Fair, The Demon, The Oprichnik, Eugene Onegin, Mazepa, The Enchantress, The Queen of Spades, Iolanta, The Maid of Pskov, The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh and the Maiden Fevronia, Aleko, The Miserly Knight, The Gambler, Betrothal in a Monastery, Semyon Kotko, War and Peace, The Nose, The Gamblers, Dead Souls, The Enchanted Wanderer, The Brothers Karamazov and The Station Guard and the ballets Ondine and The Nutckacker as well as George Frederick Handel’s oratorio The Messiah and Ludwig van Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. The Mariinsky Theatre’s performance of The Turn of the Screw, performed in Moscow in 2007 under the baton of Pavel Smelkov, was awarded a Golden Mask, Russia’s most prestigious theatre prize.

In 2010 Pavel Smelkov made his debut at the Metropolitan Opera (New York) with Dmitry Shostakovich’s opera The Nose, subsequently returning to conduct the operas Boris Godunov, Eugene Onegin, Bluebeard’s Castle, Iolanta and Prince Igor.

Has appeared as a conductor in the final rounds of the Tchaikovsky International Competition in 2011 (with the Svetlanov State Academic Symphony Orchestra) and 2015 (with the Mariinsky Orchestra).

Has composed two string quartets, a piano concerto, a piano sonata, a flute and piano sonata, romances and other works as well as over one hundred orchestrations of Russian and western classical music that have been performed by the world’s great orchestras and theatres. Commissioned by the Metropolitan Opera for a production in the 2013-2014 season, Pavel Smelkov orchestrated highlights of Alexander Borodin’s opera Prince Igor that are absent from the traditional version. Cesare Pugni’s ballet Ondine is also performed at the Mariinsky Theatre in Smelkov’s new orchestration.

Since January 2016 Pavel Smelkov has been Principal Conductor of the Primorsky Stage of the Mariinsky Theatre in Vladivostok.

© 1998 – 2017
The Mariinsky Theatre
Information
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Павел Смелков


Дирижер

Павел Смелков окончил Санкт-Петербургскую государственную консерваторию имени Н.А. Римского-Корсакова по классу оперно-симфонического дирижирования (класс профессоров Ильи Мусина и Михаила Кукушкина) и композиции (класс профессора Александра Мнацаканяна). В 1999 году создал молодежный камерный оркестр «Балтика» и в течение 15 лет был его художественным руководителем и дирижером.

С 2000 года Павел Смелков работает в Мариинском театре. С труппой театра дирижер гастролировал во Франции, Финляндии, Австрии, Германии, Израиле, США. В его репертуаре – оперы «Идоменей, царь Критский», «Дон Жуан», «Аттила», «Риголетто», «Дон Карлос», «Отелло», «Фальстаф», «Женщина без тени», «Сон в летнюю ночь», «Поворот винта», «Князь Игорь», «Борис Годунов», «Сорочинская ярмарка», «Демон», «Опричник», «Евгений Онегин», «Мазепа», «Чародейка», «Пиковая дама», «Иоланта», «Псковитянка», «Сказание о невидимом граде Китеже и деве Февронии», «Алеко», «Скупой рыцарь», «Игрок», «Обручение в монастыре», «Семен Котко», «Война и мир», «Нос», «Игроки», «Мертвые души», «Очарованный странник», «Братья Карамазовы», «Станционный смотритель», балеты «Ундина» и «Щелкунчик», оратория Георга Фридриха Генделя «Мессия», Девятая симфония Людвига ван Бетховена. Спектакль Мариинского театра «Поворот винта», прошедший в Москве в 2007 году под управлением Павла Смелкова, был удостоен высшей театральной награды России – премии «Золотая маска».

В 2010 году Павел Смелков дебютировал в Метрополитен-опера (Нью-Йорк) с оперой Дмитрия Шостаковича «Нос», в дальнейшем дирижировал в этом театре спектаклями «Борис Годунов», «Евгений Онегин», «Замок герцога Синяя Борода», «Иоланта» и «Князь Игорь».

Руководил оркестром на финальных турах международного конкурса имени Чайковского в 2011 (с ГАСО имени Светланова) и 2015 (с оркестром Мариинского театра).

Автор двух струнных квартетов, концерта для фортепиано с оркестром, сонаты для фортепиано, сонаты для флейты и фортепиано, романсов и других сочинений, более 100 оркестровок русской и зарубежной классической музыки, исполняемых ведущими оркестрами и театрами мира. По заказу театра Метрополитен-опера для постановки в сезоне 2013-2014 Павел Смелков оркестровал фрагменты оперы Александра Бородина «Князь Игорь», отсутствующие в традиционной редакции. Балет Цезаря Пуни «Ундина» на сцене Мариинского театра идет также в новой оркестровке Смелкова.

С января 2016 года Павел Смелков – главный дирижер Приморской сцены Мариинского театра во Владивостоке.

© 1998 – 2016
Государственный академический Мариинский театр
Справочная служба
+7 812 326 4141
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Правообладателем материалов, опубликованных на сайте, является Государственный академический Мариинский театр. При копировании любых материалов ссылка на сайт обязательна.
user_nameВыход