Christian Knapp


Conductor

American conductor Christian Knapp studied at the New England Conservatory (Boston) as a pianist and at the faculty of philosophy of Tufts University (Somerville and Medford), attaining a BA in both subjects. He studied conducting at the Accademia Musicale Chigiana (Siena, Italy) under Yuri Temirkanov and Myung-Whun Chung and subsequently at the St Petersburg Conservatoire under Ilya Musin, the patriarch of the St Petersburg school of conducting, and Leonid Korchmar.

He began his conducting career in 2000 at the Broomhill Experimental Opera Theatre in London, and actively supported the opening of the theatre’s branch in South Africa. Over the years Knapp has collaborated with English National Opera, the Seattle Opera, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Symphony Orchestra of the St Petersburg Philharmonic, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in Liverpool, the National Symphony Orchestra of Lithuania and the Symphony Orchestras of Seattle, Baltimore, Houston and Indianapolis among other ensembles.

Christian Knapp has a passion for contemporary music. His repertoire includes works by Pierre Boulez, John Adams, George Crumb, Kaija Saariaho, György Ligeti, Pascal Dusapin, Karlheinz Stockhausen and other 20th and 21st century composers. In 2005 Knapp conducted the first performance of American composer Paul Dresher’s opera The Tyrant. The conductor works with youth ensembles, among them New York’s International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE). In 2006 with that ensemble Knapp conducted the American premiere of Magnus Lindberg’s composition The Zone at the Mostly Mozart festival in New York.

In February 2011 Christian Knapp made his debut at the Mariinsky Theatre with Richard Strauss’ opera Elektra.

In the 2015–2016 season he will conduct the operas Così fan tutte, Don Giovanni, Aida, Faust, Carmen, Les Contes d’Hoffmann, Hänsel und Gretel, Christmas Eve and symphony music concerts.

© 1998 – 2016
The State Academic Mariinsky Theatre
Information
+7 812 326 4141
tickets@mariinsky.ru
The copyright of materials published on the site belongs to the State Academic Mariinsky Theatre. When copying any materials a link to the site must be provided.
user_nameExit

Кристиан Кнапп


Ближайшие выступления:
18 октября 2017
20 октября 2017
24 октября 2017
27 октября 2017
31 октября 2017
10 ноября 2017
Дирижер

Американский дирижер Кристиан Кнапп учился в Консерватории Новой Англии (Бостон) как пианист и в университете Тафтса (Сомервилл и Медфорд) на философском отделении, получив степени бакалавра по обеим специальностям. Дирижирование осваивал в Музыкальной академии Киджи (Сиена, Италия) у Юрия Темирканова и Мюнг-Вун Чунга, затем – в Петербургской консерватории у патриарха петербургской дирижерской школы Ильи Мусина и Леонида Корчмара.

Дирижерскую карьеру начал в 2000 году в экспериментальном лондонском театре Брумхилл-опера, активно поддерживал открытие филиала этого театра в ЮАР. В разные годы Кнапп сотрудничал с Английской национальной оперой, Оперным театром Сиэтла, Филармоническим оркестром Лос-Анджелеса, Симфоническим оркестром Санкт-Петербургской филармонии, Оркестром Королевской филармонии Ливерпуля, Национальным симфоническим оркестром Литвы, симфоническими оркестрами Сиэтла, Балтимора, Хьюстона, Индианаполиса и другими коллективами.

Кристиан Кнапп охотно исполняет современную музыку. В его репертуаре – сочинения Пьера Булеза, Джона Адамса, Джорджа Крама, Кайи Саариахо, Дьёрдя Лигети, Паскаля Дюсапена, Карлхайнца Штокхаузена и других композиторов XX–XXI веков. В 2005 под управлением Кнаппа впервые прозвучала опера американского композитора Пола Дрешера «Тиран». Дирижер работает с молодыми музыкальными коллективами, среди которых – нью-йоркский Международный современный ансамбль (ICE). С этим ансамблем Кнапп в 2006 году на фестивале Mostly Mozart в Нью-Йорке провел американскую премьеру композиции Магнуса Линдберга «Зона».

В феврале 2011 года Кристиан Кнапп дебютировал в Мариинском театре с оперой Рихарда Штрауса «Электра».

В сезоне 2016–2017 под его управлением прозвучали оперы «Сицилийская вечерня», «Симон Бокканегра», «Дон Карлос», «Аида», «Кармен», «Саломея», «Соловей», «Идиот» и другие, а также ряд симфонических концертов.

© 1998 – 2017
Мариинский театр
Справочная служба
+7 812 326 41 41
tickets@mariinsky.ru
Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход