Alexei Ratmansky


Choreographer

Graduated from the Bolshoi Ballet School in 1986 (class of Petr Pestov), graduated from the ballet master department of Russian Institute of Theatre Arts GITIS in 1992.

In 1986–1992 and 1995–1997 he was a principal dancer with the National Opera of Ukraine, in 1992–1995 he was a principal dancer with the Royal Winnipeg Ballet (Canada) and in 1997–2003 – with the Danish Royal Ballet.

He began to collaborate with the Mariinsky Theatre in 1998 on the initiative of Valery Gergiev and Makhar Vaziev. At the Mariinsky Theatre he has staged productions of the ballets Le Baiser de la fée (1998), Le Poème de l’extase (1998), Middle Duet (1998), Cinderella (2002), The Little Humpbacked Horse (2009), Anna Karenina (2010) and Concerto DSCH (2013).

From 2004-2009 he was Artistic Director of the Bolshoi Theatre ballet company (Moscow).

Productions staged for the Bolshoi Theatre include The Bright Stream, The Bolt, Le Corsaire after Marius Petipa (together with Yuri Burlaka), Flames of Paris after motifs of the choreography of Vasily Vainonen, Jeu de cartes, Capriccio, Lost Illusions, Giselle after Jean Coralli, Jules Perrot, Marius Petipa. For the Territory festival he staged the ballet Old Lady Falling Down with Bolshoi Theatre dancers.

Since 2009 he has been Artist in Residence with the American Ballet Theatre, where he has staged the ballets Shostakovich Trilogy (set to Symphony No 9, Chamber Symphony and Piano Concerto No 1), Dumbarton, Seven Sonatas, On the Dnieper, The Sleeping Beauty after Marius Petipa, The Tempest, Songs of Bukovina, Harlequinade after Marius Petipa and The Seasons.

As a choreographer he has worked with the New York City Ballet (productions of Russian Seasons, Concerto DSCH, Namouna, Pictures at an Exhibition and Odessa), the Opéra de Paris (Psyché), The Royal Ballet (24 Preludes), the Danish Royal Ballet (Turandot’s Dream, The Nutcracker, Anna Karenina and The Golden Cockerel), Teatro alla Scala (Opera), Teatro alla Scala and Ballett Zürich (Swan Lake after Petipa and Ivanov), the Dutch National Ballet (Don Quixote after Petipa and Gorsky and Memories of a Dear Place), the Bayerisches Staatsballett (Paquita after Petipa and Mazilier), the Staatsballett Berlin (La Bayadère after Petipa), the San Francisco Ballet (Le Carnaval des animaux and From Foreign Lands), the Swedish Royal Ballet (The Firebird), the Australian Ballet (The Dance School), the National Ballet of Canada (Romeo and Juliet), the Miami City Ballet (Symphonic Dances), the National Opera of Ukraine (Le Baiser de la fée, Whipped Cream).

He has collaborated with numerous stars of the ballet world. For Mikhail Baryshnikov he staged Valse-Fantasie, for Nina Ananiashvili he staged the ballets Charms of Mannerism, Dreams of Japan, Leah, and Bizet Variations, for Diana Vishneva he staged Pierrot Lunaire, for Wendy Whelan he staged Fandango, and for Natalia Osipova and David Hallberg he staged Valse Triste.

His awards include Kiev Pectoral (1995, 1997), Golden Mask (2004, 2007, 2010), Benois de la Danse prize (2005, 2014), Britain's National Dance Awards (2006), Shostakovich Prize (2006), Dance Magazine prize (2012) among others, as well as the  prizes at the Independent Diaghilev Ballet Competition (Moscow, 1992) and Serge Lifar International Ballet Competition (Kiev, 1994).

Knight of the Order of the Danish Flag. Honoured Artist of Ukraine.
Information valid for February 2020

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Алексей Ратманский


Хореограф

Окончил Московское хореографическое училище в 1986 году (класс Петра Пестова), балетмейстерский факультет ГИТИСа – в 1992-м.

В 1986–1992 и 1995–1997 годах ведущий танцовщик Национальной оперы Украины, в 1992–1995 – ведущий солист Виннипегского королевского балета (Канада), в 1997–2003 – премьер Королевского балета Дании.

Сотрудничество с Мариинским театром начал в 1998 году по приглашению Валерия Гергиева и Махара Вазиева. В Мариинском театре осуществил постановки балетов «Поцелуй феи» (1998), «Поэма экстаза» (1998), «Средний дуэт» (1998), «Золушка» (2002), «Конек-Горбунок» (2009), «Анна Каренина» (2010) и Concerto DSCH (2013).

С 2004 по 2009 год являлся художественным руководителем балета Большого театра России. Среди постановок для Большого театра – «Светлый ручей», «Болт», «Корсар» по хореографии Мариуса Петипа (совместно с Юрием Бурлакой), «Пламя Парижа» по мотивам хореографии Василия Вайнонена, «Игра в карты», «Каприччио», «Утраченные иллюзии», «Жизель» по хореографии Жана Коралли, Жюля Перро и Мариуса Петипа. Для фестиваля «Территория» с артистами Большого театра поставил балет «Вываливающиеся старухи».

С 2009 года – постоянный хореограф Американского театра балета, где поставил спектакли «Трилогия Шостаковича» («Девятая симфония», «Камерная симфония», «Фортепианный концерт №1»), «На Днепре», «Думбартон», «Семь сонат», «Спящая красавица» (по хореографии Мариуса Петипа), «Буря», «Песни Буковины», «Арлекинада» (по хореографии Мариуса Петипа), «Времена года».

В качестве хореографа работал в Нью-Йорк Сити Балете, для которого сочинил спектакли «Русские сезоны», Concerto DSCH, «Намуна», «Картинки с выставки», «Одесса»; для Парижской оперы поставил балет «Психея»; для Королевского балета Великобритании – «24 прелюда»; для Королевского балета Дании – спектакли «Сон Турандот», «Щелкунчик», «Анна Каренина», «Золотой петушок»; для театра Ла Скала – «Опера», для Ла Скала и Балета Цюриха – «Лебединое озеро» (по хореографии Мариуса Петипа и Льва Иванова), для Национального балета Нидерландов – «Дон Кихот» по Петипа-Горскому и «Воспоминания о дорогом месте»; для Баварского государственного балета – «Пахита» (по хореографии Мариуса Петипа и Жозефа Мазилье), для Государственного балета Берлина – «Баядерка» (по хореографии Мариуса Петипа), для Балета Сан-Франциско – «Карнавал животных», «Из других стран»; для Королевского балета Швеции – «Жар-птицу»; для Австралийского балета – «Школу танца»; для Национального балета Канады – «Ромео и Джульетту»; для Балета Майами – «Симфонические танцы»; для Национальной оперы Украины – «Поцелуй феи», «Взбитые сливки».

Сотрудничал со звездами балета: для Михаила Барышникова поставил «Вальс-фантазию», для Нины Ананиашвили – балеты «Прелести маньеризма», «Сны о Японии», «Леа», «Вариации Бизе», для Дианы Вишнёвой – «Лунный Пьеро», для Венди Велан – «Фанданго», для Натальи Осиповой и Дэвида Холберга – «Грустный вальс».

Среди многочисленных наград Алексея Ратманского премии: «Киевская пектораль» (1995, 1997), «Золотая маска» (2004, 2007, 2010), Benois de la Danse (2005, 2014), Британского круга критиков (2006), Премия имени Шостаковича (2006), Премия журнала Dance Magazine (2012), а также призы – Независимого конкурса артистов балета им. Дягилева (Москва, 1992), Международного конкурса им. Сержа Лифаря (Киев, 1994). Рыцарь ордена Датского Флага. Заслуженный артист Украины.
Информация на февраль 2020 года

Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход