MARIINSKY THEATRE

For more than two centuries the Mariinsky Theatre has been presenting the world with a plethora of great artistes: the outstanding bass and founding father of the Russian operatic performing school Osip Petrov served here; this is where such great singers as Fyodor Chaliapin, Ivan Yershov, Medea and Nikolai Figner and Sofia Preobrazhenskaya honed their skills and rose to glory. Ballet dancers reigned supreme on this stage, among them Mathilde Kschessinska, Anna Pavlova, Vaslav Nijinsky, Galina Ulanova, Rudolf Nureyev and Mikhail Baryshnikov. This is where George Balanchine set out on the road to art. This theatre has witnessed the dawn of the talents of such brilliant theatre decorators as Konstantin Korovin, Alexander Golovin, Alexandre Benois, Simon Virsaladze and Fyodor Fyodorovsky among countless others.

The Mariinsky Theatre can trace its history as far back as 1783, when a Decree on the establishment of a theatre committee “for performances and music” was published on 12 July and the Bolshoi Stone Theatre was opened on Carousel Square amid great pomp on 5 October. The theatre gave the square its new name – even today it is known as Theatre Square.

Built according to plans by Antonio Rinaldi, the Bolshoi Theatre staggered the public with the sheer scale of its dimensions, its majestic architecture and its stage, equipped with the most up-to-date theatre equipment and machinery. Giovanni Paisiello’s opera Il mondo della luna was performed at the opening. The Russian Opera Company performed here in turn with the Italian and French Companies, and there were also plays and concerts of vocal and instrumental music.

St Petersburg was expanding and its image changed constantly. In 1802-1803 Thomas de Thomon – a brilliant architect and draughtsman – undertook the capital reconstruction of the interior layout and decor of the theatre, noticeably altering its external appearance and proportions. The new, grand and majestic Bolshoi Theatre became one of the architectural attractions of the capital city on the River Neva along with the Admiralty, the Stock Exchange and Kazan Cathedral. But on the night of 1 January 1811 there was a tremendous fire at the Bolshoi Theatre. In two days, the rich interior was lost and the façade was seriously damaged by the fire. Thomas de Thomon, who worked on the reconstruction plans of his darling project, did not live to see it come to fruition. On 3 February 1818 the restored Bolshoi Theatre opened once again with the prologue Apollo and Pallas in the North and Charles Didelot’s ballet Flore et Zéphire to music by the composer Caterino Cavos.

We are coming to the “golden age” of the Bolshoi Theatre. The repertoire of the “post-fire” era included Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte, Die Entführung aus dem Serail and La clemenza di Tito. Russian audiences were captivated by Rossini’s La Cenerentola, Semiramida, La gazza ladra and Il barbiere di Siviglia. In May 1824 came the premiere of Weber’s Der Freischütz – a work that exerted a great influence on the birth of Russian romantic opera. There were the musical comedies of Alyabyev and Verstovsky; one of the favourite repertoire operas was Cavos’ Ivan Susanin, which was performed right up until the appearance of Glinka’s opera on the same theme. The legendary Charles Didelot is linked with the birth of the international glory of Russian ballet. It was during these years that Pushkin, who immortalised the theatre in his ageless poetry, was a regular visitor to the Bolshoi Theatre in St Petersburg.

In 1836, to improve the acoustics the architect Alberto Cavos – son of the composer and conductor – replaced the cupola ceiling of the auditorium with a flat one, above which he housed an artistic workshop and a hall for decorating the sets. Alberto Cavos removed the columns from the auditorium as they interfered with the view and distorted the acoustics; he also gave the auditorium its traditional horse-shoe shape and increased its length and height to seat up to two thousand people.

On 27 November 1836, with the first performance of Glinka’s opera A Life for the Tsar the reconstructed theatre opened once again. Perhaps by chance and perhaps by design, the premiere of Ruslan and Lyudmila – Glinka’s second opera – was held there exactly six years later, on 27 November 1842. These two dates would be enough to ensure that St Petersburg’s Bolshoi Theatre had earned its place forever in the history of Russian culture. But of course there were also performances of masterpieces of European music – operas by Mozart, Rossini, Bellini, Donizetti, Verdi, Meyerbeer, Gounod, Auber and Thomas...

In time, performances by the Russian Opera Company were transferred to the Alexandrinsky Theatre and the so-called Circus Theatre, which was located opposite the Bolshoi (where the Ballet Company and the Italian Opera Company continued to perform).

When, in 1859, the Circus Theatre was destroyed by fire, a new theatre was built on the same site, once again by Alberto Cavos. It was named the Mariinsky in honour of Empress Maria Alexandrovna, wife of Alexander II. The first theatre season in the new building opened on 2 October 1860 with Glinka’s A Life for the Tsar under the baton of the Russian Opera Company’s conductor Konstantin Lyadov, father of the renowned composer Anatoly Lyadov.

The Mariinsky Theatre secured and developed the great traditions of Russia’s first musical theatre. With the arrival in 1863 of Eduard Nápravník, who replaced Konstantin Lyadov as Principal Conductor, a new and glorious era in the theatre’s history began. The half century Nápravník dedicated to the Mariinsky Theatre stands out for the premieres of the most important operas in the history of Russian music. We will mention just a few – Musorgsky’s Boris Godunov, Rimsky-Korsakov’s The Maid of Pskov, May Night and The Snow Maiden, Borodin’s Prince Igor, Tchaikovsky’s The Maid of Orleans, The Enchantress, The Queen of Spades and Iolanta, Rubinstein’s The Demon, Taneyev’s Orest… In the early 20th century, the theatre’s repertoire included operas by Wagner (among them the tetralogy Der Ring des Nibelungen), Richard Strauss’ Elektra, Rimsky-Korsakov’s The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh and the Maiden Fevronia and Musorgsky’s Khovanshchina

Marius Petipa, who became Director of the Ballet Company in 1869, continued the traditions of his predecessors – Jules Perrot and Arthur Saint-Léon. Petipa jealously preserved classical works such as Giselle, La Esmeralda and Le Corsaire, subjecting them only to careful revisions. His production of La Bayadère brought scope and range of choreographic composition to the ballet stage for the first time, where “dance became assimilated to music.”

Petipa’s lucky meeting with Tchaikovsky, who stated that “ballet is also a symphony”, resulted in the creation of The Sleeping Beauty – a veritable poem in music and choreography. Petipa and Lev Ivanov’s collaboration produced the choreography for The Nutcracker. After Tchaikovsky’s death, Swan Lake took on a second life at the Mariinsky Theatre – and again with choreography by both Petipa and Ivanov. Petipa cemented his reputation as a symphonist choreographer with his production of Glazunov’s ballet Raymonda. His innovative ideas were seized upon by the young Michel Fokine, who staged Tcherepnin’s Le Pavillon d’Armide, Saint-Saëns’ The Dying Swan and Chopiniana to music by Chopin at the Mariinsky Theatre as well as ballets created in Paris – Schéhérazade to music by Rimsky-Korsakov and The Firebird and Pétrouchka by Stravinsky.

The Mariinsky Theatre has undergone several reconstructions. In 1885, when most productions had been transferred to the Mariinsky Theatre prior to the close of the Bolshoi, the principal architect of the Imperial Theatres Viktor Schröter added a three-storey wing to the left of the building for theatre workshops, rehearsal rooms, an electricity substation and boiler room. In 1894 under Schröter’s supervision, the wooden rafters were replaced with steel and concrete, the side wings extended and the audience foyers enlarged. The main façade, too, was subject to reconstruction, taking on monumental forms.

In 1886 ballets, which had until then continued to be performed at the Bolshoi Theatre, were transferred to the Mariinsky Theatre. The building of the St Petersburg Conservatoire was built on the site of the Bolshoi Theatre.

A government decree of 9 November 1917 made the Mariinsky Theatre the property of the State and it was transferred to the People’s Enlightenment Commissariat. In 1920 it began to be called the State Academic Theatre of Opera and Ballet (GATOB), and in 1935 it was named after Sergei Mironovich Kirov. Along with classics from the previous century, in the 20s and early 30s contemporary operas began to be staged at the theatre – among them Sergei Prokofiev’s The Love for Three Oranges, Alban Berg’s Wozzeck and Richard Strauss’ Der Rosenkavalier; and ballets were mounted that reinforced the new choreographic trend that had been popular for decades, the so called “drama-ballet” – Reinhold Glière’s The Red Poppy, Boris Asafiev’s Flames of Paris and The Fountain of Bakhchisarai, Alexander Krein’s Laurencia and Sergei Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet among others.

The last pre-WWII opera premiere at the Kirov Theatre was Wagner’s Lohengrin, the second performance of which ended late in the evening on 21 June 1941, though the performances announced for 24 and 27 June were replaced by Ivan Susanin. During World War II the theatre was evacuated to Perm, where there were premieres of several works including Aram Khachaturian’s ballet Gayaneh. On returning to Leningrad, the theatre opened the season on 1 September 1944 with Glinka’s opera Ivan Susanin.

In the 50s-70s such famed ballets as Farid Yarullin’s Shurale, Aram Khachaturian’s Spartacus and Boris Tishchenko’s Twelve with choreography by Leonid Yakobson, Sergei Prokofiev’s The Stone Flower and Arif Melikov’s The Legend of Love with choreography by Yuri Grigorovich and Dmitry Shostakovich’s Leningrad Symphony with choreography by Igor Belsky were staged at the theatre, and along with productions of these new ballets the theatre diligently cared for its classical legacy. The opera repertoire was enriched with works by Prokofiev, Dzerzhinsky, Shaporin and Khrennikov alongside operas by Tchaikovsky, Rimsky-Korsakov, Musorgsky, Verdi and Bizet.

Between 1968 and 1970 the theatre underwent a major reconstruction in line with designs by Salomeya Gelfer, as a result of which the left wing of the building was “stretched out” and took on the form it has today.

An important stage in the theatre’s history came in the 1980s with productions of Tchaikovsky’s operas Eugene Onegin and The Queen of Spades, staged by Yuri Temirkanov, the theatre’s Director from 1976. These productions, still in the theatre’s repertoire today, saw the emergence of a new generation of performers.

In 1988 Valery Gergiev was appointed Principal Conductor of the theatre. On 16 January 1992 the theatre’s historic name was restored and it became the Mariinsky Theatre once again. And in 2006 the company and the orchestra were presented with the Concert Hall at 37 Decembrists’ Street, built on the initiative of Valery Gergiev, Artistic and General Director of the Mariinsky Theatre.

user_nameExit

МАРИИНСКИЙ ТЕАТР

За более чем два столетия своей истории Мариинский театр подарил миру многих великих артистов: здесь служил выдающийся бас, основоположник российской исполнительской оперной школы Осип Петров, оттачивали свое мастерство и достигли вершин славы такие великие певцы, как Федор Шаляпин, Иван Ершов, Медея и Николай Фигнер, Софья Преображенская. Блистали на сцене артисты балета: Матильда Кшесинская, Анна Павлова, Вацлав Нижинский, Галина Уланова, Рудольф Нуреев, Михаил Барышников. Начинал свой путь в искусство Джордж Баланчин. Театр был свидетелем расцвета таланта гениальных художников-декораторов, таких как Константин Коровин, Александр Головин, Александр Бенуа, Симон Вирсаладзе, Федор Федоровский. И многие, многие другие.

Издавна так повелось, что Мариинский театр ведет родословную, отсчитывает век от 1783 года, когда 12 июля был издан Указ об утверждении театрального комитета «для управления зрелищами и музыкой», а 5 октября – торжественно открыт Большой Каменный театр на Карусельной площади. Театр дал новое имя площади – она дошла до наших дней как Театральная.

Построенный по проекту Антонио Ринальди Большой театр поражал воображение размерами, величественной архитектурой, сценой, оборудованной по последнему слову тогдашней театральной техники. При его открытии давалась опера Джованни Паизиелло Il Mondo della luna («Лунный мир»). Русская труппа выступала здесь попеременно с итальянской и французской, шли драматические спектакли, устраивались также вокально-инструментальные концерты.

Петербург строился, его облик непрерывно менялся. В 1802-1803 годах Тома де Томон – блестящий архитектор и рисовальщик – осуществил капитальное переустройство внутренней планировки и отделки театра, заметно изменил его внешний вид и пропорции. Новый, приобретший парадный и праздничный вид, Большой театр сделался одной из архитектурных достопримечательностей невской столицы, наряду с Адмиралтейством, Биржей, Казанским собором. Однако в ночь на 1 января 1811 года в Большом театре разразился грандиозный пожар. За два дня в огне погибло богатое внутреннее убранство театра, серьезно пострадал и его фасад. Тома де Томон, составивший проект восстановления своего любимого детища, не дожил до его реализации. 3 февраля 1818 года возобновленный Большой театр открылся вновь прологом «Аполлон и Паллада на Севере» и балетом Шарля Дидло «Зефир и Флора» на музыку композитора Катарино Кавоса.

Мы приближаемся к «золотому веку» Большого театра. Репертуар «послепожарной» эпохи включает «Волшебную флейту», «Похищение из сераля», «Милосердие Тита» Моцарта. Русскую публику пленяют «Золушка», «Семирамида», «Сорока-воровка», «Севильский цирюльник» Россини. В мае 1824 года состоялась премьера «Вольного стрелка» Вебера – произведения, так много значившего для зарождения русской романтической оперы. Играются водевили Алябьева и Верстовского; одной из самых любимых и репертуарных опер делается «Иван Сусанин» Кавоса, шедший вплоть до появления оперы Глинки на тот же сюжет. С легендарной фигурой Шарля Дидло связано зарождение мировой славы русского балета. Именно в эти годы завсегдатаем петербургского Большого был Пушкин, запечатлевший театр в бессмертных стихах.

В 1836 году с целью улучшения акустики архитектором Альберто Кавосом – сыном композитора и капельмейстера – купольное перекрытие театрального зала заменяется плоским, а над ним размещается художественная мастерская, зал для расписывания декораций. Альберто Кавос убирает в зрительном зале колонны, которые затрудняли обзор и искажали акустику, придает залу привычную форму подковы, увеличивает его длину и высоту, доведя число зрителей до двух тысяч.

27 ноября 1836 года первым представлением оперы Глинки «Жизнь за царя» возобновились спектакли перестроенного театра. Волею случая, а может быть не без доброго умысла, премьера «Руслана и Людмилы» – второй оперы Глинки – состоялась ровно через шесть лет, 27 ноября 1842 года. Двух этих дат было бы довольно, чтобы петербургский Большой театр навсегда вошел в историю русской культуры. А ведь шли, разумеется, и шедевры европейской музыки: оперы Моцарта, Россини, Беллини, Доницетти, Верди, Мейербера, Гуно, Обера, Тома...

Со временем спектакли русской оперной труппы были перенесены на сцену Александринского театра и так называемого Театра-цирка, расположенного напротив Большого (где продолжались выступления балетной труппы, а также итальянской оперы).

Когда же в 1859 году Театр-цирк сгорел, на его месте все тем же архитектором Альберто Кавосом был построен новый театр. Он-то и получил имя Мариинского в честь царствующей императрицы Марии Александровны, супруги Александра II. Первый же театральный сезон в новом здании открылся 2 октября 1860 года «Жизнью за царя» Глинки под управлением главного капельмейстера Русской оперы Константина Лядова, отца будущего знаменитого композитора Анатолия Лядова.

Мариинский театр упрочил и развил великие традиции первой русской музыкальной сцены. С приходом в 1863 году Эдуарда Направника, сменившего Константина Лядова на посту главного капельмейстера, началась славнейшая эпоха в истории театра. Полвека, отданные Направником Мариинскому театру, отмечены премьерами самых значительных в истории русской музыки опер. Назовем лишь некоторые из них – «Борис Годунов» Мусоргского, «Псковитянка», «Майская ночь», «Снегурочка» Римского-Корсакова, «Князь Игорь» Бородина, «Орлеанская дева», «Чародейка», «Пиковая дама», «Иоланта» Чайковского, «Демон» Рубинштейна, «Орестея» Танеева… В начале ХХ века в репертуаре театра оперы Вагнера (среди них тетралогия «Кольцо нибелунга»), «Электра» Рихарда Штрауса, «Сказание о невидимом граде Китеже» Римского-Корсакова, «Хованщина» Мусоргского…

Возглавивший балетную труппу театра в 1869 году Мариус Петипа продолжил традиции своих предшественников Жюля Перро и Артюра Сен-Леона. Петипа ревностно сохранял такие классические спектакли, как «Жизель», «Эсмеральда», «Корсар», подвергая их лишь бережной редакции. Поставленная им «Баядерка» впервые принесла на балетную сцену дыхание крупной хореографической композиции, в которой «танец уподобился музыке». Счастливая встреча Петипа с Чайковским, утверждавшим, что «балет – та же симфония», привела к рождению «Спящей красавицы» – подлинной музыкально-хореографической поэмы. В содружестве Петипа и Льва Иванова возникла хореография «Щелкунчика». Уже после смерти Чайковского «Лебединое озеро» обрело вторую жизнь на сцене Мариинского театра – и вновь в совместной хореографии Петипа и Иванова. Свою репутацию хореографа-симфониста Петипа упрочил постановкой балета Глазунова «Раймонда». Его новаторские идеи были подхвачены молодым Михаилом Фокиным, поставившим в Мариинском театре «Павильон Армиды» Черепнина, «Лебедя» Сен-Санса, «Шопениану» на музыку Шопена, а также балеты, созданные в Париже – «Шехеразаду» на музыку Римского-Корсакова, «Жар-птицу» и «Петрушку» Стравинского.

Мариинский театр неоднократно реконструировался. В 1885 году, когда перед закрытием Большого театра на сцену Мариинского переносится большая часть спектаклей, главный архитектор императорских театров Виктор Шретер пристраивает к левому крылу здания трехэтажный корпус для театральных мастерских, репетиционных залов, электростанции и котельной. В 1894 году под руководством Шретера деревянные стропила были заменены стальными и железобетонными, надстроены боковые флигели, расширены зрительские фойе. Подвергся реконструкции и главный фасад, обретший монументальные формы.

В 1886 году балетные спектакли, до этого времени продолжавшие идти на сцене Большого Каменного театра, были перенесены в Мариинский театр. А на месте Большого Каменного возвели здание Санкт-Петербургской консерватории.

Правительственным декретом 9 ноября 1917 года Мариинский театр был объявлен Государственным и передан в ведение Наркомпроса. В 1920 году его стали именовать Государственным академическим театром оперы и балета (ГАТОБ), а с 1935 года ему было присвоено имя С. М. Кирова. Наряду с классикой прошлого века на сцене театра в 20-е – начале 30-х годов появляются современные оперы – «Любовь к трем апельсинам» Сергея Прокофьева, «Воццек» Альбана Берга, «Саломея» и «Кавалер розы» Рихарда Штрауса; рождаются балеты, утверждающие популярное в течение десятилетий новое хореографическое направление, так называемый драмбалет – «Красный мак» Рейнгольда Глиэра, «Пламя Парижа» и «Бахчисарайский фонтан» Бориса Асафьева, «Лауренсия» Александра Крейна, «Ромео и Джульетта» Сергея Прокофьева и др.

Последней предвоенной оперной премьерой Кировского театра был вагнеровский «Лоэнгрин», второй спектакль которого закончился поздним вечером 21 июня 1941 года, но назначенные на 24 и 27 июня спектакли заменили на «Ивана Сусанина». Во время Великой Отечественной войны театр был эвакуирован в Пермь, где состоялись премьеры нескольких спектаклей, в том числе премьера балета Арама Хачатуряна «Гаянэ». По возвращении в Ленинград театр открыл сезон 1 сентября 1944 года оперой Глинки «Иван Сусанин».

В 50-70-е гг. в театре были поставлены такие знаменитые балеты, как «Шурале» Фарида Яруллина, «Спартак» Арама Хачатуряна и «Двенадцать» Бориса Тищенко в хореографии Леонида Якобсона, «Каменный цветок» Сергея Прокофьева и «Легенда о любви» Арифа Меликова в хореографии Юрия Григоровича, «Ленинградская симфония» Дмитрия Шостаковича в хореографии Игоря Бельского, одновременно с постановкой новых балетов в репертуаре театра бережно сохранялась балетная классика. В оперном репертуаре наряду с Чайковским, Римским-Корсаковым, Мусоргским, Верди, Бизе появились оперы Прокофьева, Дзержинского, Шапорина, Хренникова.

В 1968–1970 гг. была осуществлена генеральная реконструкция театра по проекту Саломеи Гельфер, в результате которой левое крыло здания было «вытянуто» и приобрело нынешний вид.

Важным этапом в истории театра в 80-е годы стали постановки опер Чайковского «Евгений Онегин» и «Пиковая дама», осуществленные возглавившим театр в 1976 году Юрием Темиркановым. В этих постановках, которые до сих пор сохраняются в репертуаре театра, заявило о себе новое поколение артистов.

В 1988 году главным дирижером театра стал Валерий Гергиев. 16 января 1992 года театру было возвращено его историческое название – Мариинский. А в 2006 году труппа и оркестр театра получили в своё распоряжение построенный по инициативе художественного руководителя-директора Мариинского театра Валерия Гергиева Концертный зал на улице Писарева, 20.

user_nameВыход